LibGuides: Religious Studies: Find Articles

How to Find Journal Articles

If you know the exact title of the article, use Library Search, put " " around the title to run an exact search.
For journal articles dated back long time ago which can not be located in Library Search,
- First find the journal, note the call number.
- Use the "Show me Where" link found on the right hand side of the book record to see where in the library, or sometimes on Campus the journal can be found.
- Go to the book stacks to locate the volume# and issue# where your article was published.

Option 1: scan the reference list/bibliography of articles/books you already have to find citations of articles of interest to you.

Option 2: search for the articles/books you already have in Google Scholar to see what journal articles have cited them.

Option 3: search for the articles/books you already have in Web of Science to see what journal articles have cited them.

Identify search terms, synonyms, variant spellings and related words(See "Getting Started")
Combine your search terms with operators and truncation/wildcard symbols.
Run searches in the databases recommended in this guide. See here for more tips on database search.
If you like, you can also start your searches in the Library Search, use the filters to limit the results to Scholarly & Peer-reviewed journal articles.
You can also try Google Scholar, which sometimes may help you identify better key words.

Interlibrary Loan Services at UVic
Interlibrary loan provides you with resources from other libraries when UVic does not hold the item you need for your study or research.

Databases & Journals

The following databases have very good coverage of peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles in the subject area.

Annee philologique Contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaelogy, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities.
PhilPapers PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Look for Philosophy of Religion in the Table of Contents.
Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
JSTOR A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Index Islamicus Index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world.
Index of Christian Art The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century).
International Medieval Bibliography
Comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.

Patrologia Latina Database
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216

Philosopher's Index Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.

Other useful databases for Religious Studies

See here for a complete list of journals on religious studies subscribed by Uvic Libaries.

Browse the following selected journals on religious studies.