This page provides lists of resources for specific areas of interest.
2SLGBTQ+ health sources
LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBT -specific core periodicals. Includes current coverage, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974), and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994).
Clinical resources
UpToDate
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information resource designed to assist with diagnosis and treatment. With UpToDate, you can answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge and improve patient care. Independent studies confirm these benefits.
MERCK Manuals - Online Medical Library
The Merck Manuals are a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. The Online Medical Library provides essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help health care professionals and medical students deliver the best care.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database has a rich collection of consumer health information providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
Audience: Nutritionists, clinical nutritionists, dietitians and allied health workers, university/medical school libraries and public libraries, managers and lawyers within the food industry, and government sectors dealing with nutritional policies.
CPS Full Access
Canada's authoritative source for prescribing & managing drug therapy at the point of care, providing health care professionals with online and mobile access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information.Includes e-CPS
This database contains fully searchable drug and therapeutic content, updated weekly to ensure you have the most current drug information, including Health Canada advisories.
Indigenous health sources
Native Health Database
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal)
Initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library to provide a place to find resources for Indigenous studies. Electronic copies of books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps are included.
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
Covers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, and is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in Vermont. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Coverage 1871 - current.
Encyclopedia of Stress
Covers nearly every conceivable aspect and ramification of stress including a wide range of related topics such as neuroimmune interactions, cytokines, enzymatic disorders, effects on the cardiovascular system, immunity and inflammation, and physical illnesses.
PsycINFO
Resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
CogNet (MIT Press)
Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.
Aging
AgeLine
Source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
CogNet (MIT Press)
Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.
Alternative medicine
Alt-HealthWatch
Database of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care.
Evidence-based medicine
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
The complete evidence-based practice content set from the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) available via OvidSP. This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Anatomy
Primal Pictures
A comprehensive selection of dynamic, interactive modules featuring more than 6,500 highly accurate, three-dimensional anatomy models. Modules focus on individual organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems.
Anatomy TV
Online 3D human anatomy educational resource. The most comprehensive, accurate and detailed 3D models of the human body.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series.
Palliative care
CareSearch
CareSearch is an online resource designed to help those needing relevant and trustworthy information and resources about palliative care. The website has been funded by the Australian Government's Department of Health.
Research methods
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Ask us