LibGuides: Nursing: Find Articles

Best Bets for finding articles on your topic

Depending on your topic, you may want to explore some of these research databases. If your topic is multidisciplinary, meaning it might fall into a few areas (social work, psychology, etc...) you may want to search several databases, or, you may want to search using a broader search tool, like Library Search, or Google Scholar.

CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals. Provides indexing and abstracting for over 3,000 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1981. Subjects covered include biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, behavioral sciences, consumer health, health management, and education.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Medline (Ovid) 1946 - present The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This resource focuses on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, and many more.

Other Useful Databases

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Native Health Database
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
PsycINFO
Resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information resource designed to assist with diagnosis and treatment. Topic reviews contain links to other related topics and are fully illustrated and referenced.