Medieval Studies

IHP has digitized more than 280 manuscripts on a wide variety of topics.

200 manuscripts on a variety of topics, in a variety of languages.

An archive of book paintings, known as the Persian Miniatures, that were created to illustrate scenes from the Persian National Epic, the Shahnama (the Book of Kings).

A comprehensive collection of manuscripts of the Shahnama (Book of Kings), together with a display of miniature paintings in each one.

The Staatsbibliothek offers both German and English languages for searching and collection overview. The library has digitized roughly 500 manuscripts.

High quality digital editions, free to your desktop. Examine every page of rare historic works; compare different editions side-by-side; choose standard or magnified view; read supporting material by our curators and other experts

Leaf through great books from British History. Zoom in to see details. Requires download of BL's 'Turning the Pages' software.

This early 13th-century Codex Gigas or Devil's Bible at the National Library in Stockholm is reputed to be the biggest surviving European manuscript. (Codex Gigas means 'giant book'.) It is now browseable online, with a digitized version of every page of the manuscript as well as commentaries on its history, texts, script, initials and decoration.

Online research resource of the Piedmont Morgan Library. Thousands of digital images from the libary's renowned collection of manuscripts from the medieval and renaissance eras. Spans ten centuries of Western illumination.

Millions of items from Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

The Henry III Fine Rolls Project is a unique and pioneering enterprise which democratises the rolls by making them freely available in English translation with a sophisticated electronic search engine, the first medieval source to be treated in this way.

Call Number: Microforms (fiche) Z240 I535 Based on the Incunabula Short Title Catalog (ISTC) at the British Library, this microfiche collection reproduces full-text editions of incunabula from libraries around the world.

Contains the medieval manuscript holdings of the National Library of Medicine, particularly the12th-century English manuscript, Treatises on Medicine, lost for nearly 50 years and recently returned. The site focuses on medicine and medical literature in medieval England, on the sources and transmission of the manuscript texts, and on their later manifestations.