LibGuides: Map Library Resources: Map collections

Maps at UVic Libraries

Our maps collection contains over 68,000 paper maps on many themes/topics, including biology, culture, economic, geology, history, hydrography, military, streets, social, topography (including 3-D models), and transportation.

Visit the Maps & GIS collection on the first floor of the Mearns - McPherson Library, just to the right of the Ask Us desk.

Geographical regions

British Columbia, Greater Victoria and Vancouver Island (21 percent of collection)
Canada (other) (29 percent)
USA (especially Pacific states) (17 percent)
Central and South America (7 percent)
Europe, Asia (especially Great Britain and Japan) (15 percent)
Africa, Australia, NZ, Oceans (12 percent)
Stars, solar system, Moon, World, North America (3 percent)

Atlases

In addition to maps, we have a large collection of atlases. These include general world, historical, environmental and specialty atlases. We also have several globes.

Historical maps

UVic Libraries partnered with several external organisations and displays some digital historical maps via UVic Libraries Vault.
UVic Libraries Special Collections also has many historical physical maps.

Local and regional maps (online)

A selection of local (UVic and Victoria-area maps) available online.

UVic maps & buildings
Campus maps and building information
First Nations in BC
An interactive map allowing you to learn about First Nations' territories in BC.
Capital Regional District (CRD) Atlas
An interactive map, with the ability to toggle layers of information on and off. Includes harbours.
Gulf Islands Trust
Area mapping and property information for the Gulf Islands.
Victoria Weather Network
Network of 20 school weather stations, mapping temperature, wind, rain and more.
Victorienteers
Orienteering maps for local parks (note: printed versions are higher resolution)
Island Health Authority population and health statistics

Mapping current environmental issues (online)

Nurdles (pellets to make HDPE, LDPE & PP plastics) on local waterfronts

Nurdles on Victoria beaches & waterfronts
Points on the map have dates and some photos.
Nurdles on Vancouver beaches & waterfronts
Points on map have dates and some photos

Glacier retreat tracked over time

Milla Lake Moving Glacier on Vancouver Island, BC: 1931 - today
User slider and measure tool to compare historic map data to the current landscape.
Klinaklini Glacier, from Mt. Somolenko near Mt Waddington, BC: 1949 - today
Use slider or measure tool to compare historic map data to the current landscape.

Dams in BC: landscapes before and after

Before Strathcona dam: Utilizing a historical map to recall the former landscape
Use slider and measure tool to compare historic map data to the current landscape.
Remembering the Dam(n)ed: Finlay, Parsnip, and Peace rivers before Williston reservoir
Use slider and map tools to compare historic map data to the current landscape.

Land use changes in Victoria

Land use change over time in Saanich, Victoria, BC
Use slider to move through a series of air photos.
Re-locating the orchards of Victoria, BC: Re-connecting with the land
Interactive map -- toggle to turn information layers on/off.

Other

"Mountains" in Winnipeg: 3d possibilities with QGIS and QGIS2Three plugin