A-Z Subject List: Key Legal Treatises and Textbooks

Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.

This title is part of the Essentials of Canadian Law series and explores the current state of substantive criminal law in Canada.

Available as an ebook – click on the blue book icon.

This book provides a detailed and critical examination of the criminal law of Canada, from the governing principles of criminal law to a clear and comprehensive analysis of important offences in the Criminal Code and the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act as well as defences.

This practice manual covering all aspects of the criminal process, from the laying of a charge through the passing of a sentence, as well as appeals and extraordinary remedies.

This is practical guide to understanding evidentiary issues arising in criminal law practice. The chapters generally include the relevant statutory provisions, practice and procedure tips, a discussion of the pertinent case law, and recent developments in the law.

Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.

Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.

This book provides an accessible yet thorough account of the constitutional protection and practical application of rights under the Canadian Charter

This book provides an analytical view and critical review of implementation of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms is in the criminal courts by the Supreme Court, courts of appeal, and trial judges.

This resource offers a thorough examination of Charter case law developed over the years.

Also available as an ebook - click the blue book icon.

Section 7 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms provides that “[e]veryone has the right to life, liberty and security of the person and the right not to be deprived thereof except in accordance with the principles of fundamental justice.” This book analyzes all aspects of section 7.

This book covers Charter-related criminal law and prosecutions of statutory offences

This work includes analysis of principle of admissibility, exclusionary rules, instruments of evidence, principles of proof, evaluation of evidence, and pre and post-trial proceedings. In addition, it features an annual year-in-review of key developments in evidentiary law, including review of international developments on the law of criminal evidence.

The law of evidence is at the heart of both civil and criminal litigation. With the Supreme Court of Canada's continuing development and extension of the "Principled Approach" into virtually every facet of the law of evidence, this new edition of the leading treatise on the subject clearly and concisely examines the full range of evidentiary issues

This handbook covers the Canadian statutory and common law rules of evidence, including author commentary and case law annotations.

This is practical guide to understanding evidentiary issues arising in criminal law practice. The chapters generally include the relevant statutory provisions, practice and procedure tips, a discussion of the pertinent case law, and recent developments in the law.

Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.

This book sets out and examines the law governing criminal procedure in Canada. It explains the body of rules and principles that govern the investigation, prosecution, and adjudication of any offence enacted by Parliament for which an accused person would have a criminal record if found guilty by a court exercising jurisdiction under the Criminal Code

This book provides a comprehensive review of the law of criminal procedure in Canada. The book is organized chronologically, following the stages of the criminal justice system as a criminal charge is processed. Subjects discussed range from the classification of offences, to the law of arrest, to fitness to stand trial and the voir dire.

This book covers every aspect of the law of criminal procedure in Canada. This book provides an authoritative analysis of each relevant provision of the Criminal Code. It covers the issues of classification of offences, jurisdiction, pre-trial procedures, trial, sentencing, appeals and extraordinary remedies.

This book describes the law relating to all of the steps in the criminal justice system, beginning with the police investigation and ending with appeals.

This book explains the rules of criminal procedure. Structured chronologically, the relevant rules and procedures are introduced and explained in the same sequence as the criminal process.

Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.

This book focuses on “street-level” encounters: detentions and arrests that occur in the course of investigating crime and laying charges.

This book provides comprehensive coverage of mental disorders and the Criminal Code.

A comprehensive guide to criminal litigation involving vulnerable accused persons who may be unfit to stand trial, considering whether to seek a verdict of “Not Criminally Responsible” and navigating through the complex provisions within Part XX.1, the Mental Disorder Provisions of the Code.

This book brings together the voices of multidisciplinary experts from coast to coast. It explores complex dynamics at the intersection of mental health and the law and explains more sophisticated concepts in detail. It is a reference to consult when confronted with difficult problems in mental health and the law.

This book lays out the intricate legal framework that governs the issuance, execution and review of search warrants, and the rules limiting warrantless activities by state agents.

Search and Seizure provides a practical examination of the evolving body of legal rules and principles that govern how reasonable searches and seizures are conducted. In particular, it considers the increased complexity of assessing a person’s reasonable expectation of privacy in the digital age.

This book explores all significant facets of sentencing law and procedure, from an examination of the general principles to a complete analysis of all the applicable cases and legislation. It also covers in detail crucial matters such as specific exemptions, special considerations and alternate punishments, Charter issues, and sentencing considerations under the Youth Criminal Justice Act.

This book provides the reader with the available sentences and the range of sentence for offences in the Criminal Code. For each offence, it offers an analysis of the applicable sentencing principles, as well as the key factors influencing sentencing.

The volume is not simply a statement of the law—instead, the chapters examine the wider context in which sentencing and parole decisions are taken. The volume also incorporates findings from the latest empirical research into sentencing policy and practice in Canada, including important issues such as sentencing Indigenous persons.

This book provides current and comprehensive analysis of sentencing laws and principles in Canada. This casebook covers all aspects of sentencing law, including judicial methodology, aggravating and mitigating factors, plea discussions, probation, imprisonment, and more.

This book discusses the elements of the sexual offences in the current Criminal Code, the elements of the historic sexual offences, and the particular rules of evidence, and procedure that are applicable in sexual assault trials

This work is a basic guide to the relevant issues and authorities of which Crown counsel, defence counsel, and judges should be aware in cases of individuals charged with sexual assault or any of the related sexual offences.

This resource provides a condensed, critical analysis of major topics in the area of youth criminal justice. Commentary and annotations of the key provisions of the Youth Criminal Justice Act are provided, including a review of precedent-setting authorities and analysis of the specialized features of youth justice.

This concise guide to the Youth Criminal Justice Act (YCJA) provides an overview of the youth criminal justice system in Canada, section-by-section commentary on legal and operational implications, and captures key recent developments.

Ebook available - click the blue book icon

The book includes discussion of constitutional, evidentiary, and procedural issues that are relevant to youth justice; it also explores some of the ethical and practical issues that confront lawyers and other professionals working in the youth justice system. As well, it considers the broader social and political context for issues of adolescent offending and youth justice.

This book provides the first comprehensive, province-by-province analysis of how each Canadian jurisdiction has implemented the Act in accordance with its own history, traditions, and institutional arrangements.

Prosecuting and Defending Youth Criminal Justice Cases provides practical commentary and analysis alongside updated policy, case law, and legislation in order to guide readers through a youth criminal justice case from beginning to end.

This book combines examinations of international courts and tribunals, transnational criminal law treaties, and recent literature to provide a unique perspective on these two international law disciplines that, while best viewed as separate, retain a common heritage and some overlapping concepts and applications.

The increasing prevalence of transnational crime in a mobile and interconnected world presents serious challenges, both in terms of analysing these issues and attempting to tackle and prevent them. This Research Handbook on Transnational Crime is an interdisciplinary, up-to-date guide to this growing field, written by an international cohort of leading scholars and experts.

This book covers a variety of subjects, including terrorism, financial crime and corruption, jurisdiction, extradition, money laundering, trafficking, maritime enforcement, cross-border evidence-gathering, and the international transfer of prisoners.