Skip to Main Content
Cambridge Histories Online
This unique historical reference compendium brings the texts of the Cambridge Histories series to life. Includes access to over 250 titles covering over 15 different academic subjects.
Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas. Includes a core foundation of 135+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries providing carefully vetted, trusted short-entry content.
Use subject headings to find all the works on your topic, or to find material related to a work you have discovered.
Find journal articles
Below is a list of the best databases for this topic - depending on your topic and approach, you may need to consult additional databases as well.
America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts
Index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Guide on published writing on British and Irish history covering the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
International Medieval Bibliography
Comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Military & Government Collection
Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more.