LibGuides: Grey Literature: Government publications

What are government publications?

Information produced and published by government agencies, ministries, departments.

Can be from municipal, provincial, federal, or Indigenous governments
Can be in the form of reports, studies, statistics, websites, data, books, white papers, etc.
Usually created for specific purposes

Canada Commons
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Platform for Canadian Electronic Library content. (Formerly desLibris)
The University of Victoria subscribe to the collections:
Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection
Canadian Health Research Collection
Canadian Public Policy Collection (federal, provincial, municipal, think tank)
Irwin Law Collection
Canada Commons Government
Canada Commons: Government is an index to, and collection of, over 1 million publications from more than 500 unique government sources. For the first time, federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal reports of research value—as well as literature from major political parties—are made discoverable in a single site.
Government of Canada Publications
The access point to locate publications authored by Government of Canada departments. These publications encompass both print and electronic documents. The database includes over 275,000 titles , of which (130,000 are freely accessible epublications. The catalogue lists newly published and previously published works. Find annual reports, commissions of inquiry, regulatory information, policy papers and statistics.