Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Gender Studies - A Welcome to the Library for Gender Studies Students

Are you a new undergraduate or graduate student in the Department of Gender Studies? Get a quick library orientation by viewing this library guide. And, most importantly, welcome to UVic Libraries! We're glad you're here.

Pia's Pick's

Here are my top ten library resources for Gender Studies students (for more specific lists, consult one of the many other topic-specific library guides).

  1. Summon
    • When you are searching with a specific topic, but are not sure which source might be helpful then Summon is your one-stop-shop for locating a variety of items held by UVic Libraries.  Summon is a little like the libraries' own Google.  Remember that you can refine your results with filters such as 'peer review' or 'subject terms'. I usually use Boolean searching, but the advanced search interface is helpful too. 
  2. The Library's Catalogue
    • If you know what you are looking for, for example if you know the title or author of a book, then the most effective way to search is to search our library catalogue, also known as the 'Books & Media" tab on the libraries' home page search box.  Make it as clear as possible for the search.  For example, if you know the exact title then type is the first few words of it and then select 'title begins with' from the drop down menu.  Exact spelling matters so be careful.  Also, you can search using Boolean here as well, just use the '?' instead of the '*'.
  3. SAGE Research Methods
    • If you are new to research methods and feeling a bit overwhelmed, then SAGE Research Methods is the place for you.  All of SAGE publications' wonderful content is available through this one database.  There are reading lists, a methods map, a project planner, and a 'which stats test' tool.  You can also browse by research methods topics specific to the discipline of education. This is a phenomenal resource for those both new and experienced with research methods in the Social Sciences.
  4. SAGE Reference & SAGE Knowledge ebooks
    • Both resources use the same search platform.  Browse by discipline or search by keyword.SAGE Knowledge is a searchable social science eBook platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content.  SAGE Reference include Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Major Works providing students with the perfect place to start their research on key topics in the social and behavioral sciences. 
  5. International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
    • I love this encyclopedia, it is definitely one of my all-time favs. The IESBS is an amazing online reference source which "comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes."  For me, the IESBS is second to none as an academic quality encyclopedia for students.  Some folks can spend hours browsing here and getting lost in reading on any manner of topics.
  6. Infed
    • Need an excellent definition of curriculum or an overview on the work of bell hooks? Then check out infed. Infed.org is an online, open, and not-for-profit encyclopedia.  You can browse by education-related ideas, category, practice, or thinker.  Produced by the George Williams College in London, UK, the aim of this resource is to provide "a space for people to explore education, learning and social action – and in particular the theory and practice of informal education, community learning and development, specialist education, social pedagogy and lifelong learning".  In my opinion, this and the Stanford Encyclopedia for Philosophy are exemplars for what open encyclopedias are all about.
  7. Routledge Handbooks series on Gender Studies topics
    • Routledge Handbooks Online is an invaluable educational resource bringing together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research from Routledge, and CRC Press, in the Humanities, Social sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built environment, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.

  8. Journal Citation Reports
    • Web of Science has an excellent journal citation reports tool where you can see what are the most highly cited journal titles in your field.  To browse journal titles in education, click the drop down menu of 'Select Categories', then select 'Education & Educational Research', for example, and, finally, press submit.  You can sort your results by various indicators, I usually select 'journal impact factor'. To learn more about journals themselves, consult Ulrich's Periodical Directory.
  9. UVic Space
    • Want to see what previous students' theses and dissertations look like?  Or, are you ready to submit your own?  Then check out UVic Space, UVic's institutional repository.  You can browse by supervisor, department, or subject.  Soon your own work will be displayed there as well!
  10. Citation Style Guides
Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.