Forest Biology

The British Columbia Conservation Data Centre (CDC) systematically collects and disseminates information on plants, animals and ecosystems (ecological communities) at risk in British Columbia. This information is compiled and maintained in a database that provides a centralized and scientific source of information on the status, locations and level of protection of these species and ecosystems.

This is the web portal for the Biogeoclimatic Ecosystem Classification (BEC) and Ecology Research program of the British Columbia. This website is the source for information about the BEC system and access point for current and historical reports, maps, software, and other products of the program.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access. In partnership with the Internet Archive and through local digitization efforts, the BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing nearly 100,000 titles and over 160,000 volumes.

Stores a wide selection of mathematical models for biological systems in a freely accessible repository.

Created by the University of Cambridge, this resource includes all Darwin's publications, including many handwritten manuscripts and supplementary works.

An electronic atlas of the plants of British Columbia, with over 8000 pages of information with images.

A website listing primary floras from around the world.

An online encyclopedia on all 1.9 million species currently known to science, capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species. Provides text, images, video, maps, and data.

The Global Invasive Species Database focuses on invasive alien species that threaten native biodiversity and covers all taxonomic groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants in all ecosystems. Species information is either supplied by or reviewed by expert contributors from around the world. As the database is continually being populated with species information, please check back on a regular basis for updates. See the site index for more information.

Find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world

For browsing the taxonomic structure or for retrieving sequence data for a particular group of organisms.

Provides information about the evolutionary history of organisms, and allows navigation between different taxonomic levels through a phylogenetic tree.

A database of standardized information for the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

The Western Soundscape Archive offers thousands of recordings of Western animal species and their environments. Search by name or keyword, or browse all sounds currently available.

Information on protected areas, with some satellite images, and species data.

A project dedicated to the identification, description, monitoring and conservation of the largest trees within British Columbia, educating and enlisting the help of the province's citizens in the task.

Describes the silvical characteristics of about 200 forest tree species.

Describes 40 trees found in British Columbia.