LibGuides: Forest Biology: Find Articles via Database

Key Databases

BioOne
High-impact bioscience research journals.
BioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content and are checked for plagiarism.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Medline (OCLC)
Medline contains all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing from more than 9,000 titles. Corresponds to the print indexes - Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
Springer Nature Experiments (Formerly Springer Protocols)
Find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences with Springer Nature Experiments. Experiments is a new research solution developed by Springer Nature to connect researchers with the most relevant and important protocols and methods to support their research projects.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Aquatic resources provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 publications. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.
Oceanic Abstracts
Worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. This database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Forest Science Database
Resource for forest and wood science, developed by CABI Publishing. Will be of particular interest to those actively involved in research on all aspects of forestry and forest products. Covers scientific developments in forestry, agroforestry and wood science as well.
Zoological Record - Web of Science
Zoological Record (ZR) is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. More than 140 years of experience has made ZR a respected resource for: Information from every field in animal biology; projects in academic, government, and commercial organizations; Reliable and in-depth information searches. The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1986 as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 370 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
Biosis Citation Index
Life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing. This resource is current up to December 2015.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

Can't find an article? Start here!

Familiarize yourself with the jargon and narrow down your topic

Look for scholarly sources on the topic: Course reserves (including textbooks), required readings, encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a great way to familiarize yourself with a topic.
Once you identify a topic and find some preliminary information, you need to locate more "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" information from refereed journals (check your instructor's notes in your assignments)

Finding articles using databases

Search using key concepts and keywords in databases like Library Search, Google Scholar and Web of Science databases
Use the "Find Articles" tab of this guide to find journal articles on your topic

Read the sources located in the preliminary research to determine

what research questions have been generated from the topic
from what perspective you may approach this topic

More in-depth research on your topic

Use Boolean Operators AND, OR, NOT to combine search terms
Use Quotes to search as a phrase, parenthesis to combine synonyms or related terms, and use limits for dates, gender, primary sources, etc.
Finding it difficult to narrow down on a topic or understand terminology?
Contact your subject librarian for more help with starting your research and locating articles