LibGuides: HSTR 201: Introduction to Historical Research : Reference Works: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Reference Works: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Scholarly Reference works may take the form of dictionaries (short entries, featuring definitions) or encyclopedias (longer entries, with definitions, background information, key people and places, additional reading recommendations). The best will highlight problems or controversies in a topic, and point to key primary and secondary sources.

Find these in our Main Library Catalogue ("encyclopedia and [topic]" or search the collections below:

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides on many topics including business, military history, popular culture, religion & mythology, technology & environment, and women's studies,
Cambridge Histories Online This unique historical reference compendium brings the texts of the Cambridge Histories series to life. Includes access to over 250 titles covering over 15 different academic subjects.
Canadian Encyclopedia The online version of the Canadian Encyclopedia was launched Oct 10, 2001 by the Historica Foundation of Canada with the financial assistance of the Department of Canadian Heritage. With 3500 contributors across Canada, the bilingual encyclopedia will be continually updated. Includes articles on Canadian biographies and places, history, the Arts, as well as First Nations, science and Canadian innovation.
Gale Virtual Reference Library E-books in Arts; Biography; Business; Education; Environment General Reference; History; Law; Literature; Medicine; Multicultural Studies; Nation and World; Religion; Science; Social Science; Technology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Largest reference work ever published for the social and behavioral sciences.
Oxford Reference Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas. Includes a core foundation of 135+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries providing carefully vetted, trusted short-entry content.
Very Short Introductions (Oxford) Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.