Whether for current news or historical primary sources, newspapers are an incredible resource. The list of newspapers below is not exhaustive; please consult our Newspapers and Popular Magazines Help Guide for other resources. And watch the video below to learn how to find newspapers articles.
Need help? Visit the librarians at the Library Help Desk via email, text, phone, or chat. Don't see what you need? You can request newspapers or news articles from Interlibrary Loan.
Here's a quick list of our most frequently used online newspapers:
Access World News Access World News provides extensive global news coverage at any level: local, state, regional, national and international.
British Colonist 1858-1980 - A full text archive of the oldest newspaper in British Columbia. Since its inception in 1858 it has been known variously as the British Colonist, the Daily Colonist and other variants, and is still published today as the Victoria Times Colonist. It is an important primary source for the history of British Columbia and Vancouver Island.
Canadian Newsstream - 1970s to current. Includes major and medium market Canadian newspapers from across Canada, and regional British Columbia and Yukon titles.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1889 - 1997
ProQuest Digital Microfilm ProQuest's Digital Microfilm provides online access to the following newspapers from 2011 to 3 months ago: National Post Montreal Gazette Vancouver Sun Times Colonist And the following from 2008 to 3 months ago: New York Times Wall Street Journal Washington Post Like traditional microfilm, there is no search function.
Victoria Daily Times 1884 - 1940 - The Victoria Daily Times was published in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada from 1884–1952, when it merged with The Colonist to become what we now know as The Times-Colonist.