Looking for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles? Search our index of research databases to find the literature you're looking for. You can even search by subject — including Art & Art History! Browse through some of our Best Bets below, or explore more through our index for this subject area.
If you need help with searching, check out our video about using research databases below.
Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
Art & Architecture SourceFull-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts—for an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Art Full TextResource for art information featuring full-text articles of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and abstracts of art dissertations. Index of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
ARTstorImages from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)Covers visual arts in all media including: traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture), decorative and applied arts, material culture, photography and contemporary new media, and visual arts aspects of performing arts. It includes European art from late Antiquity to the present; American art from the European arrival to the present and Christian and European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years. ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards, ensuring unbroken coverage of indexed journals.
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Art OnlineAccess to an authoritative art resource. Users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and more.