LibGuides: Asian Heritage Month: Asian Canadians in B.C.

Glimpses into Chinese Immigrantion

Glimpses into Chinese Immigration in Canada: The New Republic and the World Journal Vancouver newspapers

This is a digital exhibition of selected articles from The New Republic and The World Journal Vancouver newspapers; the interviews with Mr. John Hsu, one of the newspaper chief editors; relevant historical photographs and the communication letters from the Canadian Chief Press Censor, 1915-1920, about The New Republic newspaper.

The New Republic newspaper, first published in Victoria, probably from 1911, and then in Vancouver from 1958 to 1984, represented the perspectives of the Chinese Nationalist Party formed in 1912 (Kuomintang ––abbreviation “KMT”), one of the key players on the Chinese and Taiwanese political stages over the past century. The World Journal Vancouver was one of the three main daily newspapers published in Vancouver for Chinese Canadians. The two newspapers are valuable resources for any researcher interested in the influence of KMT on the Chinese-Canadian community and the evolution of the Chinese immigrant community on the Pacific West Coast through various historical periods.

More Digital Collections

Chinese Canadian Collection (CCBA, 中华会馆）

Multicultural Canada The Multicultural Canada digitization project grew from our conviction that the cultural groups that make up our country have little-known stories that need to be researched and told. Through newspapers, interviews, photographs, print and material culture people tell us who they are.The collection includes newspapers, oral histories, photographs, books, newsletters, legal documents, meeting minutes and other ephemeral materials.

Chinese Canadian Artifacts Project (CCAP)
The Project brings together and makes accessible in a single, searchable database over 6000 Chinese Canadian artifacts held by 16 local and regional museums throughout British Columbia. It will be useful for anyone interested in Chinese immigration history in B.C.
Food History Project
Japanese Canadian Photograph Collection (UBC)
Korean Canadian Heritage Archive (UBC)
Mathew Ko Colour Films, Victoria's Chinatown and Region, c.1939-c.1950
This collection contains amateur films of Mathew Ko from the late 1930s to early 1950s and are a record of family and community life in Victoria and the region during that time.
Nikkei Stories
Nikkei Stories at the Powell Street area in Vancouver and Steveston, B.C.
Project 1907
In 1907, an anti-immigration rally exploded into 3 days of violence and vandalism in Vancouver’s Chinatown and Japantown.
South Asian Historical Places in B.C.

Asian Heritage Month

Victoria's chinatown

Japanese Sedai Oral History

Punjabi Immigrant Experience

Glimpses into Chinese Immigrantion

More Digital Collections

Digital Collections