Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Systematic Reviews: A How-To Guide

Overview of systematic review steps and resources to assist researchers conducting reviews

Workshops

Systematic Reviews Workshop Series

Workshop 1: Setting Yourself Up for Success

This workshop covers what is needed to plan your systematic review (or other evidence synthesis review) and create a review protocol that can be used to guide you through the review process. Topics to be covered in this session:

  • Defining your question
  • Creating your protocol
  • Picking databases
  • Developing inclusion/exclusion criteria
  • Pre-scan of the literature and identifying seed papers
  • Analyzing seed papers
  • Keywords and subject headings

Workshop 2: Developing Your Data Collection Strategy

This workshop covers the key concepts/skills needed to create a data collection strategy for your review project. Creating a comprehensive search strategy that is designed to capture as many relevant studies as possible and is validated using a test set, is similar to designing your data collection method in an experimental study. It requires careful planning as well as knowledge of how databases work. Topics to be covered:

  • Elements of a comprehensive search
  • Designing and building a comprehensive search in one database
  • Saving searches
  • Validating searches using a test set
  • Data management practices

Workshop 3: The Next Steps: translating, tracking, reporting and study selection

This workshop covers the remaining steps of the data collection phase of your systematic review/knowledge synthesis review project and introduce you to the study selection process. Topics to be covered:

  • Translating searches from one database to another
  • Supplementary search techniques
  • Reporting guidelines (PRISMA)
  • Exporting records from databases
  • Deduplicating using Covidence
  • Study selection process

To find the next offering for this workshop series, see the University of Victoria Libraries workshop calendar.

To request a customized version of this workshop series for your course or department, please email Zahra Premji (zahrapremji@uvic.ca).

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.