LibGuides: MBA Program: Find articles &amp; books

Need help? -- Contact Business Librarian

David Boudinot

he/him

Email!

Contact:

University of Victoria Libraries
PO Box 1800 STN CSC
Victoria BC V8W 3H5

250-721-6132

Subjects: Gender Studies

What are trade and professional publications?

Publications such as magazines, journals, newspapers, blog articles and white papers that are written for a particular professional or trade/industry audience are considered trade publications. These resources focus on trends, forecast, and issues of interest to people working in a specific industry or profession. Like popular media sources published for a general audience, trade publications can include news, current events, statistics, advertisements, editorials, notices of events, and reports.

What are scholarly sources?

Check out UVic Library's Research Tips for a review of scholarly vs. popular sources, developing research topics, the differences between books, journals, newspapers, and magazines, and more.

Browse Books by Subject

Journal articles and trade publications

► Search for scholarly, peer-reviewed, and popular business literature in the following sources.

Key resource

Business Source Complete Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 . Detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Scholarly sources

► In addition to Business Source Complete, try the following for scholarly and peer review journal articles:

Emerald Journals A business research tool of over 35,000 full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.

Trade publications

► In addition to Business Source Complete use the following to find trade publications on your topic.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Conference Board of Canada Research reports on business, economy, and forecasts of industry trends.

Interdisciplinary resources

► The interdisciplinary nature of business research may benefit from searching broadly across our collections.

You may also consult research guides about other subjects, or browse our lists of databases. For example organizational behavior research may draw from psychology or education resources, etc.

Other databases
View frequently used databases or browse databases by subject
Library guides by subject

Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Interdisciplinary resources

► The interdisciplinary nature of business research may benefit from searching broadly across our collections.

You may also consult research guides about other subjects, or browse our lists of databases. For example organizational behavior research may draw from psychology or education resources, etc.

Other databases
View frequently used databases or browse databases by subject
Library guides by subject

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Books

UVic Libraries provides access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks, search these using the library catalogue or browse the eBook collections by publisher or discipline.

Search the library catalogue
If you know what you are looking for, for example if you know the title or author of a book, then the most effective way to search is to search our library catalogue, also known as the "Books & Media" tab on the libraries' home page search box. Make it as clear as possible for the search. For example, if you know the exact title then type is the first few words of it and then select 'title begins with' from the drop down menu. Exact spelling matters so be careful.

eBook Collections at UVic Libraries
by Sue Bengtson Last Updated Aug 10, 2023 652 views this year

Featured e-book collection:

Harvard Business Review Press eBook Collection
Access the complete catalog of eBooks published by Harvard Business Review Press. Includes a wide range of topics from business communication, economics, finance, personal success, strategic planning and more.