Business cases

• Search broadly using Library Search
• Search directly within key article databases
• Search directly within e-book collections
• Browse journals focused on case studies

Library Search is the search tool used across the entire library collection. There are several ways to use it to search for business cases.

Include (case study OR case studies OR cases) as part of your search

• Example: If looking for case studies related to organizational behavior try this search or click to see results: ("case study" OR "case studies" OR case*) AND ("organizational behavior” OR diversity OR power OR cultur* OR conflict OR negotiat*)

Use advanced search features to include case* in the subject or title field

• Start at Library Search Advanced Search and enter your keywords.
• In this case, we've entered "case study" OR "case studies" OR case* into the first search bar, and selected to search the Subject field. You can also try searching for this search string in the Title field.
• In the second bar we've entered the keywords we're interested in. See example:

• Try searching in both Title and Subject Terms and compare your results.

Browse by library subject headings

• Library staff assign subject headings to every book and e-book in the collection. Try searching for a subject heading in the Browse Subject Search. Be sure to include case in your search.
• Browse examples: Organizational behavior - case studies | Management - case studies | Social responsibility of business case studies

Some of our key business article databases include a document type for case studies. You may search using this feature or the techniques mentioned above.

Business Source Complete

• Choose Advanced Search, enter your search terms in the box(es) at the top and scroll down. On the left under Limit your results select Full Text and under Document type: choose Case Study. Scroll down to click Search. Example: case study search on corporate culture.
• Results include case studies published in academic journals (including a partial collection of cases published in Harvard Business Review) or by business information organizations such as Marketline.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs

• Choose Advanced Search, enter your search terms in the box(es) at the top and scroll down. Under Document type: choose Case Study. Scroll up to click Search. Example: case study search on organizational behavior.
• Results include case studies published in Canadian academic journals, magazines, and trade publications.

Emerald Journals

• Choose Advanced Search, select Case Studies, and enter your search terms in the box(es). Scroll down, under Access Type choose Only content I have access to. Examples: case study search on management.
• Results include case studies published in the CASE Journal and from business schools and other institutions. Browse the Case Study Collection for more information but be sure to select 'Only content I have access to' as we don't subscribe to the entire collection.

Searching the library catalogue should cover e-books but you can also search directly within business and management e-book collections.

IGI Global (InfoSci Books)

• Search and use filters on right side for Teaching Cases
• Particularly good for sustainability/green business topics

Gale Virtual Reference

• Enter search terms in Basic Search, once the results display filter by Document Type: Business case study and Case study
• Browse the CaseBase collection

O'Reilly Online Learning

• Browse case studies by topic including business transformation, design thinking, scaling and more.
• Video collection
• Does not work in Firefox