LibGuides: HSTR120: History of Human Rights: Finding Sources in books

Finding sources published in books

Many sources have been published in books - these can include, but are not limited to:

Collected speeches
autobiographies
memoirs
letters
photographs
oral histories
government publications
sermons
and much more.

To find books, Start with the UVic Libraries Books & Media catalogue. Add keywords like "Sources" "letters" "Diaries" etc. to find these kinds of sources.

If you don't find anything here, use Worldcat to find books in other libraries, and follow the links to interlibrary loan them.

You can also search for out of copyright books using the Internet Archive, or historical book collections such as:

Early American Imprints - Evans, 1639-1800 Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.
Early American Imprints - Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Early Canadiana Online A digital library providing access to millions of pages of Canada's printed heritage. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Early European Books History of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO includes a variety of materials — from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements — and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Included are works from women writers of the eighteenth century; collections on the French Revolution; and numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare.

We have many collections of primary sources in books, such as the one below - but sources may also be found inside regular books - to illustrate the author's ideas or provide documentation. Don't limit yourself to books with 'sources' in the subject headings!

Human and Civil Rights by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
Call Number: JC571 H7526 2006
ISBN: 1414403267
Publication Date: 2006-09-22