Bibliography, Textual Criticism, and Book History

Special Collections and University Archives serves as a research and teaching resource for students, faculty, and the community at large. All members of the university community, as well as those outside the university, are welcome to use the resources and services of the department.

To find rare and unique materials, please use the following:

• Rare Books and Printed Material: Rare printed materials are discoverable through UVic Libraries' catalogue.
• Archives: Archival material, such as letters, diaries, photographs, and other records, are searchable here.
• Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts:  This list provides an overview of the medieval and early modern manuscripts at UVic Libraries, including books of hours, deeds, charters, illuminated manuscript leaves, letters, and a papal bull.

Special Collections and University Archives have a number of materials documenting the history of the book over time, including binding, printing, and paper making.

Bindings

Papier-maché binding. Parables of the Lord. Call Number: BS2553 P37 1847.

Sewing variation samples.Call Number: Z271 B95 2018.  

Writing Surfaces

Papyrus Fragment, Hieratic Papyri Collection, SC486.
Œuvres du marquis de Villette, Call Number: PQ2067 V43 1786. Contains: 20 leaves of paper samples of Léorier Delisle's experimental paper

made from various plant materials: marshmallow, nettles, hops, moss, reeds, conferva (3 kinds), burdock, burdock-colt's foot, and thistles; quack-grass root; hazel wood and spindle wood; and bark of willow, spindle tree, oak, poplar, osier and elm.

Esparto paper. Call Number: TS1109 A76.
Japanese hand-made paper. Call Number: TS1095 J3G6 1958.
Compton Marbling portfolio of patterns. Call Number: Z271.3 M37C6 1992.

Printing Plates, Blocks, and Flongs

Copper cut image of Audrey Alexandra Brown's book All Fools' Day, Audrey Alexandra Brown fonds, SC335, box 2, folder 4

Wood block printing plate for the Sylvester Beef Co., Frank and Cecilia Sylvester family fonds, Accession 2008-028, box 1, folder 11

Flongs, Newspaper Mat Mould Collection, SC457.

Woodblock, "Mother and Child" (used as a Christmas card for the Peace Pledge Union), Eric Gill Collection.

Printing plate from Annual, Victoria College (B.C.) fonds, AR229, 1996-011.

Woodblocks, Herbert Siebner Fonds.

Printing blocks, Fireweed Press fonds, SC381.