LibGuides: HSTR 330: Canada in the 1960s: Reference Works

Important Reference Works

Reference works are the place to start your pre-research and can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, maps, atlases, statistics, handbooks and more...

grab fast facts
locate key people, places and things
identify key themes
highlight debates in the field of History
get started with key works, bibliographies and historigraphies

Atlas of Canada - History Discover Canada's history through maps and facts. Maps from 1630s onwards document Canada's peoples, places, and histories.List of Topics:Historical Indian Treaties Aboriginal Peoples circa 1630, 1740 and 1823 Pre-Confederation Canada (1740 and 1823) Territorial Evolution Exploration 1497 to 1760

Canadian Encyclopedia The online version of the Canadian Encyclopedia was launched Oct 10, 2001 by the Historica Foundation of Canada with the financial assistance of the Department of Canadian Heritage. With 3500 contributors across Canada, the bilingual encyclopedia will be continually updated. Includes articles on Canadian biographies and places, history, the Arts, as well as First Nations, science and Canadian innovation.

Canadian Public Policy Collection Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
Canadian Timelines - Oxford Reference Online Click on an event in the timeline to link to the relevant entry in Oxford Reference Online. Currently covers Canada from 1900 to 1999.
Canada's Military History Gateway Covers the years 1100-2000.

Canadian Who's Who Documenting the achievement of Canadians from a wide variety of occupations and professions, Canadian Who's Who records the diversity of culture in Canada. These biographies are organized alphabetically and provide detailed information on the accomplishments of notable Canadians, from coast to coast.

Canada in the Making - Biographies and Reference page
Canada's Military Heritage ebooks Electronic edition of Canada's Military Heritage Vols. I-III. Also use the three volumes in print: Reference FC226 C53513 1993
Canada Year Book Collection The annual review of major social and economic trends in Canada published by Statistics Canada. Online editions cover 1867 to 1967, and 2001 to the present. Print holdings in Main at call number HA743 11-402, with the latest five years in Reference.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online The Dictionary of Canadian Biography, whose first volume appeared in 1966, is a joint project of the University of Toronto and the Université Laval and presents the work of researchers and writers in many fields from across Canada and around the world.

Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples
Facing History: Portraits from the National Archives of Canada Portraits of many of the persons found in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography.
Historical Atlas of Canada The Historical Atlas of Canada project published three volumes which explored major themes and episodes in the history of Canada using maps, text and graphics.
Oxford Companion to Canadian History This is the essential reference title for all those interested in Canadian History. From the Norse to Nunavut, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.
Timeline of Canada's Military History From the Department of National Defence.