The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. We believe that they offer unique value to the reader by providing more analysis and depth than the typical research journal article. They are also more dynamic and convenient than traditional print or digital handbooks, contributed volumes, and monographs.
The library and its lectures are organized by series. Each series is managed by a prominent consulting editor. The series editor guides lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review. New series and lectures will be added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed. This will make the collection dynamic in a way that has not been achieved with traditional reference or educational products.
The Synthesis platform provides the user with access to content in PDF with live links to references and sophisticated search and personalization functions.
Access available to eBooks published 2005 onward and from sciences, social sciences and humanities disciplines. Subjects include: Computer science, engineering, political science, business & management, life sciences,education and more.
Springer allows unlimited simultaneous access to eBooks.
The eBooks' PDF and HTML documents are fully searchable and can be downloaded and printed.
Springer's online platform, SpringerLink integrates Springer eBooks with millions of articles from Springer's peer-reviewed journals.
This book discusses how emerging groundwater risks under current and potential climate change conductions reduce available groundwater resources for domestic use, and agriculture and energy production. The topics discussed throughout this book are grouped into five sections; (i) Sea Level Rise, Climate Change, and Food Security, (ii) Emerging Contaminants, (iii) Technologies and Decision Support Systems, (iv) Surface Water-Groundwater Interactions, and (v) Economics, and Energy Production and Development.
his comprehensive engineering textbook offers a thorough overview of all aspects of hydrology and shows how to apply hydrologic principles for effective management of water resources. It presents detailed explanations of scientific principles along with real-world applications and technologies. Engineering Hydrology: An Introduction to Processes, Analysis, and Modeling follows a logical progression that builds on foundational concepts with modern hydrologic methods.
The book will be of interest to researchers and practitioners in the field of water resources, hydrology, environmental resources, agricultural engineering, watershed management, earth sciences, as well as those engaged in natural resources planning and management. Graduate students and those wishing to conduct further research in water and environment and their development and management will also find the book to be of value.
Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
Integrating information from several areas of engineering geology, hydrogeology, geotechnical engineering, this book addresses the general field of groundwater from an engineering perspective. It covers geological engineering as well as hydrogeological and environmental geological problems caused by groundwater engineering. It includes 10 chapters, i.e., basic groundwater theory, parameter calculation in hydrogeology, prevention of geological problem caused by groundwater, construction dewatering, wellpoint dewatering methods, dewatering wells and drilling, groundwater dewatering in foundation-pit engineering, groundwater engineering in bedrock areas, numerical simulation in groundwater engineering, groundwater corrosion on concrete and steel. Based on up-to-date literature, it describes recent developments and presents several case studies with examples and problems. It is an essential reference source for industrial and academic researchers working in the groundwater field and can also serve as lecture-based course material providing fundamental information and practical tools for both senior undergraduate and postgraduate students in fields of geology engineering, hydrogeology, geotechnical engineering or to conduct related research.
This textbook employs a technical and quantitative approach to explain subsurface hydrology and hydrogeology, and to offer a comprehensive overview of groundwater-related topics such as flow in porous media, aquifer characterization, contaminant description and transport, risk assessment, and groundwater remediation. It describes the characterization of subsurface flow of pristine and polluted water and provides readers with easily applicable tools for the design of water supply systems, drinking-water source protection, and remediation interventions. Specific applications range from groundwater exploitation as a drinking water supply to the remediation of contaminated aquifers, from the definition and safeguarding of drinking-water sources to the assessment of human health risks in connection with groundwater contamination events.
This book presents recent findings from the South Asian region (SA), broadly including groundwater studies on (a) quantity, (b) exploration, (c) quality and pollution, (d) economics, management and policies, (e) groundwater and society, and (f) sustainable sources. It offers a compilation of compelling, authentic insights into groundwater scenarios throughout the water-stressed South Asia region. Comprising Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, it is the most densely populated region in the world: It occupies approximately 4% of the global land area but supports more than 25% of the global population.
This new edition adds several new chapters and is thoroughly updated to include data on new topics such as hydraulic fracturing, CO2 sequestration, sustainable groundwater management, and more. Providing a complete treatment of the theory and practice of groundwater engineering, this new handbook also presents a current and detailed review of how to model the flow of water and the transport of contaminants both in the unsaturated and saturated zones, covers the protection of groundwater, and the remediation of contaminated groundwater.
This textbook provides a complete introduction to Hydrogeology. It is a comprehensive reference for earth science professionals involved in groundwater exploitation as well as for geotechnical engineers. This English translation of the German textbook "Hydrogeologie" by Hölting & Coldewey, which has been published in its 8th edition, provides insights into the sources and reservoirs of groundwater, the dynamics of fluid flow, and the physical and chemical composition of groundwater. It also gives an overview about the economic value of groundwater and its exploitation and use. A consistent use of the internationally accepted SI units as well as the formula symbols in the text contributes to the understandability.
Water dominates the surface of Earth and is vital to life on our planet. It is a remarkable liquid which shows anomalous behaviour. In this book, John Finney introduces the science of water, and explores how the structure of water molecules gives rise to its physical and chemical properties. Considering water in all three of its states as ice and steam as well as liquid, Finney explains the great importance of an understanding of it's structure and behaviour to a range of fields including chemistry, astrophysics, and earth and environmental sciences.
The second volume of this book is a compilation of the high-quality papers from the International Conference on Emerging Trends in Water Resources and Environmental Engineering (ETWREE 2017). Written by researchers and academicians from prestigious institutes across India, the contributions present various scenarios and discuss the challenges of climate change and its impact on the environment, water resources and industrial and socio-economic developments. The book is a valuable resource for scientists, faculties, policymakers, and stakeholders working in the field of climate and environment management to address the current global environmental challenges.