Law reports and cases - Historical Foundations of the Common Law - Law 361 - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Rolls

Publications of the Selden Society
From website: Some 150 volumes have appeared with the Selden Society’s imprint in its Annual, Supplementary and other series. These continue at the rate of one or more each year. Most of the annual volumes consist of original source materials, never before in print: early law reports, courts’ records, judges’ notebooks, legal treatises, precedent and practice books, and compilations of documents brought together by the Society’s editors for the first time.
Locate in the Law Library by a title search in the Library catalogue, or search by "publications of the Selden Society" for a complete list of library holdings.
Court of Common Pleas / British History Online
From the website: This court heard interpersonal, or 'civil', litigation, initiated either by private litigants, or by the monarch's attorney on behalf of the monarch acting as a private litigant. These rolls, four per year, contain an almost unparalleled wealth of information regarding persons, places and events in later medieval and early modern England.

Proceedings of the Old Bailey: London's Central Criminal Court, 1674-1913
From website: A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

English Reports
Provides access to over 100, 000 full text English cases from the period of 1220-1865, page-images of the original bound reprint edition, all Indexes and the Book of Charts.
Justis
Full text online legal library of UK case law dating back to 1163 and legislation from 1235.
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital
Selected case law from 1622, including Chancery, Star Chamber, and Equity courts.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards
Search for the "Law Reports" columns.

Central Criminal Court Minutes of Evidence/ Sessions Papers
Call Number: Law Microfilm
Publication Date: Vol. 1 (1834-35)-v. 158 (1912-13). (49 reels)
Issues for each session have title: The whole proceedings on the King's Commission of the Peace, Oyer and Terminer, and Gaol delivery for the City of London ... of the Central Criminal Court.

British Columbia Reports 1867 - 1948.
The British Columbia Reports is a law report series that was first published in 1884 by the Law Society of British Columbia, with judgments dating back to 1867. The series ceased publication in 1948. This collection includes the full text of all decisions published in the series. The Reports, as a body of work, contains important social and legal history of this province, in addition to charting the development of British Columbia law through the course of its publishing history. Includes also the Digest of British Columbia Case Law, a three-volume series of summaries of cases from the Reports, as well as from publications of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in the United Kingdom

ICLR Online
ICLR as the authorised publisher of the official series of The Law Reports for the Superior and Appellate Courts of England and Wales. The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting’s ICLR Online database contains all the case reports published by the ICLR since 1865.
Justis
Full text online legal library of UK case law dating back to 1163 and legislation from 1235.
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital
Selected case law from 1622, including Chancery, Star Chamber, and Equity courts.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards
Search for the "Law Reports" columns.

Privy Council Papers 1792 - 1998
Catalogue of the "Printed Papers’ of Appeals to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (JCPC), Limited full text.

World Trials Library - Hein ONline
This collection includes thousands of trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It also includes famous trials from Philadelphia's Jenkins Law Library, Cornell University, and the University of Missouri-Columbia's trials collections. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.
more...less...
This collection includes thousands of trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It also includes famous trials from Philadelphia's Jenkins Law Library, Cornell University, and the University of Missouri-Columbia's trials collections. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.

Cobbett's complete collection of state trials ... by Howell, Thomas Bayly, 1768-1815.
Call Number: Law - Ask at Service Desk, KF220 H68 v.1 - v.33
Publication Date: 1809-1826