Statutes and parliamentary papers - Historical Foundations of the Common Law - Law 361 - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

About this page

This page provides access points for historical documents and publications of the Government of the United Kingdom including Parliament.

Index to the statutes 31st December ... by Great Britain. Statute Law Committee.
Call Number: Law Stats-Eng KD142.3 I52
Publication Date: 1992
Covers 1235 - 1990. 2 vo.
Chronological table of the statutes; 1235 - present. by Great Britain. Statute Law Committee
Call Number: Law Stats-Eng KD142.3 G74
Publication Date: 2013 and 2014, current two years only retained

English Historical Documents Online
English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.

Table of Regnal Years
Use this table to find English and British rulers (Kings and Queens) and the years of their rule, i.e. "regnal year".
Regnal years are used in citation of early statutes.

Magna Carta English translation
From the British Library. Digital image, translation, and related resources.
Legislation.gov.uk
Browse most UK legislation from 1267, including public general acts and local acts. Acts from the old parliaments (pre -1800) of , Scotland, England, Ireland and Great Britain included. .

Justis
Legislation from England datng back to the Magna Carta.
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital
Excellent source for digital versions of early statutes, and legislation from Common law countries. Some commentary. Discoverable from the Library catalogue and Summon.
English Historical Documents Online
English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.

House of Commons (UK) Parliamentary Papers - 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries
The British House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) provides access to documents of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries up to 2004. Includes digitized full text images of over 180,000 British parliamentary papers. This comprehensive collection includes Hansard and all sessional papers issued by the House of Commons including Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts, etc.

Hansard 1803-2005
This site is generated from information from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. Information presented here is generated from the publicly available XML files. There's Hansard itself; by volume, just the Lords sittings, Commons sittings or Westminster Hall sittings. You can also view Written Answers, Written Statements, Lords reports or Grand Committee reports
more...less...
Information used to make this site has been provided by the Hansard Digitisation Project, led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords. The site is still undergoing development and experimentation, and further features may be added in due course. Work to improve the quality of the data is also ongoing.
Corbetts Parliamentary History of England: from the Norman conquest in 1066 to the year 1803.
Cobbett's parliamentary debates, v. 1-12. 1066-1743; The parliamentary debates, v. 13-30. 1743-1794; Hansard's parliamentary debates, v. 31-36. 1794-1803.
London, Edinburgh and Belfast GazettesOnline

British and Foreign State Papers [electronic resource].
Publication Date: London :H.M.S.O.,[1815?]-[1977]
Vol. 1 (1812/14)-v. 166 (1961/62) issued by Great Britain. Foreign Office; v. 167 (1963/64)-v. 170 issued by Great Britain. Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Parliamentary Debates (Official Report, Hansard) by Great Britain
Call Number: J301 H22, J301 J22, J201 K22, Main
House of Commons and House of Lords Debatesa are hled from series 1 to series 6, 1803 to 1983, under various call numbers in Main.
Journals of the House of Commons [microform] by Great Britain
Call Number: KD90 G73 Law Library Microfilm
v.1 (1547/1628)-v. 237 (1980/81)
Journals of the House of Lords [microform] by Great Britiain
Call Number: KD74 G73 Law Library Microfilm
v.1 (1509)-v.108 (1974/75)
Cobbett's parliamentary history of England [electronic resource] : from the Norman conquest, in 1066, to the year, 1803 by Cobbett's
Call Number: HB151
Parliamentary debates from 1066 to 1803.
The London Gazette by HMSO
Call Number: Law Library Legislative Materials Compact Shelving KD62 G73
Publication Date: 1870-1993
Debates and proceedings of the British parliaments : a guide to printed sources by David Lewis Jones
Call Number: Reference Z2009 J65
House of Lords Sessional Papers
Call Number: McPherson Library J301 J6
Publication Date: 1714 - 1805
House of Lords Sessional Papers [microform]
Call Number: Microforms Centre / Film J301 J6 Accession no.389
Publication Date: 1806 - 1859