A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, professors and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study. Unlike newspapers and magazines, journals are intended for an academic or technical audience, not general readers.
Most journals are...
Journals are published on a regular basis (monthly, quarterly, etc.) and are sequentially numbered. Each copy is an issue; a set of issues makes a volume (usually, each year is a separate volume). Like newspapers and magazines, journals are also called periodicals or serials.
A database is a searchable collection of information. Usually each database has its content focus on one or more subjects such as history, Linguistics, Engineering and so on.
Searching in your subject database will limit your search results to your subject area, leading to more precise searches. Especially when you need to do deep and extensive search on your dopic, you want to use your subject database.
Please click on the "Databases" tab on top of the page for more information.
The database will tell you everything you need to know about an article.
Sometimes, the entire article is included in the database. Use PDF links or HTML links.
Sometimes you have to follow links from the database to the online article, often via our library catalogue. Use "Download PDF" links! 
Sometimes, the article is only available in print, and you have to use the Library Catalogue to find out where the journal that holds the article is in the library. In this case, the "Download PDF" link will be replaced with information including the library, collection, and call number for the journal. will tell you that the journal is only available in print, and for which years. Use the "Locate" button in the long record to determine which floor, and where on that floor, to visit to find the journal.
Ask us