LibGuides: Teaching Assistants and Research Assistants: Canadian Studies

Important Reference Works

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online The Dictionary of Canadian Biography, whose first volume appeared in 1966, is a joint project of the University of Toronto and the Université Laval and presents the work of researchers and writers in many fields from across Canada and around the world.

Canada Year Book Collection
The (discontinued) annual review of major social and economic trends in Canada published by Statistics Canada. Online editions cover 1867 to 1967, and 2001 to 2012. Print holdings in Main at call number HA743 11-402.

Canadian Public Policy Collection Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Historical Atlas of Canada The Historical Atlas of Canada project published three volumes which explored major themes and episodes in the history of Canada using maps, text and graphics.
Oxford Companion to Canadian History This is the essential reference title for all those interested in Canadian History. From the Norse to Nunavut, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.
Indigenous People's Atlas of Canada Created by The Royal Canadian Geographical Society in conjunction with Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council, the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation and Indspire.

Popular Magazines and News

The following is a list of databases or indexes featuring Canadian popular magazines and their articles.

British Colonist (Victoria, BC) 1858 - 1969

Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
Libris Canadiana Index to Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail Includes the full pages of The Globe and Mail from 1844 to 2012.

Index to Pre-1900 English Language Canadian Cultural and Literary Magazines (Colonial -1900) McPherson Library Reference AI3 V56 [CD-Rom station in Music & Media library]. Indexes articles, poems, short stories, illustrations, and editorials in 191 magazines.

Canadian Newsstream
1970s to current. Includes major and medium market Canadian newspapers from across Canada, and regional British Columbia and Yukon titles.

Statistics

Statistics Canada is Canada’s National Statistics Agency producing statistics on Canada’s population, resources, economy, society and culture. In Canada, providing statistics is a federal responsibility. In addition to conducting a Census every five years, there are about 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life and daily updates about new statistical products.

The Business and Community Newsletter (11-632-X)

Census of Canada 2016 data products
Access also to 2011, 2006, 2001, and 1996 Census. Link to 2006 , 2001, and 1996 online Census of Canada publications and tables.
National Household Survey 2011 data tables
Between May and August 2011, Statistics Canada conducted the National Household Survey (NHS) for the first time. This voluntary, self-administered survey was introduced as a replacement for the long census questionnaire, more widely known as Census Form 2B.
Statistics Canada - Daily, Subjects, and Key Resources.
Check the Browse by Subject and Key Resource area of the home page. Cansim and the Summary tables are found under the Key Resources tab. The Daily features news about releases and reports.

CANSIM II
CANSIM II is Statistics Canada's socio-economic online database for Canadian socio-economic statistics on labour, health, income, trade, education, manufacturing, investment and more. Track trends, analyze market potential or study economic activity.

Statistics Canada Library Catalogue
The Statistics Canada Library collects and provides access to the complete collection of Statistics Canada's documents produced in paper and electronic form.
more...less...
This collection dates to the founding of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics in 1918. Also included in this collection are documents and publications of the various statistical divisions which merged in 1918 to become the Dominion Bureau of Statistics. These documents include census, foreign trade, industrial production, births/deaths and institutional statistics dating back to 1841.
Census of Canada 1851 - 1996, Internet Archive
Publications of the Census of Canada, 1851 to 1996 and the Census of Agriculture. Digital scans provide to the Internet Archive by the Statistics Canada Library. Chose “all items most recently added first” and you will get a list of the publications for each census, in roughly census order. The LIbrary holds these census in print in Basement Compact Shelving, HA 741.5 area.
How to Cite Statistics Canada Products in three easy steps
Census Program including 2016

Victoria and B.C.

BC Stats
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. BC Stats publications cover a wide range of areas relating to the provincial population, economy, and region. Statistics contained in BC Stats publications and reports derive from various sources, including Statistics Canada, surveys conducted by provincial government ministries and agencies, as well as from administrative files.

Encyclopedia of British Columbia (EBC) online
Includes more than 4,000 articles on BC places and things and hundreds of historic and colour photographs, handy statistics, maps, tables, charts and diagrams.
UVic Digital Collections
Digitization projects here at UVic
UVic Research & Publications
UVic Theses, conference proceedings, lectures, and journal articles
British Colonist (Victoria, BC) 1858 - 1969