Skip to Main Content
Popular Magazines and News
The following is a list of databases or indexes featuring Canadian popular magazines and their articles.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
Canadian Major Dailies (Proquest)
Full text access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in a variety of Canadian newspapers, many with extensive backfiles. Database content is updated daily, following a two-day embargo period. Includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Globe and Mail, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist.
Index to Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail
Includes the full pages of The Globe and Mail from 1844 to 2012.
Important Reference Works
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography, whose first volume appeared in 1966, is a joint project of the University of Toronto and the Université Laval and presents the work of researchers and writers in many fields from across Canada and around the world.
Canada Year Book Collection
The annual review of major social and economic trends in Canada published by Statistics Canada. Online editions cover 1867 to 1967, and 2001 to the present. Print holdings in Main at call number HA743 11-402, with the latest five years in Reference.
Canadian Public Policy Collection
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
Historical Atlas of Canada
The Historical Atlas of Canada project published three
volumes which explored major themes and episodes in the history of Canada using maps, text and graphics.
Oxford Companion to Canadian History
This is the essential reference title for all those interested in Canadian History. From the Norse to Nunavut, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.
Indigenous People's Atlas of Canada
Created by The Royal Canadian Geographical Society in conjunction with Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council, the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation and Indspire.
Victoria and B.C.
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. BC Stats publications cover a wide range of areas relating to the provincial population, economy, and region. Statistics contained in BC Stats publications and reports derive from various sources, including Statistics Canada, surveys conducted by provincial government ministries and agencies, as well as from administrative files.