Skip to Main Content
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
More Health Sciences Databases
Use these databases to find articles about your topic.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
ASTIS - Arctic Science and Technology Information System
Contains over 50,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive
Provides doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers with access to nearly 900 full text journals, including full text for nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications covering clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Journals available in full text in this database are indexed in MEDLINE.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within MEDLINE. This database provides PDF coverage back as far as 1960.
The literature database comprises four sections:
Journal articles: Abstracts of articles from 12 palliative care journals that have not been indexed in the major electronic databases.
Conference abstracts: Abstracts from Australian conferences from 1980 that deal with issues in palliative care.
Theses: Masters and PhD theses from Australian universities that deal with issues in palliative care.
Grey Literature: Government documents, policy and research reports from agencies involved with palliative care.
The authoritative database provides indexing and abstracting for current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982. Subjects covered include biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, behavioral sciences, consumer health, health management, and education.
e-CPS provides instant, point-of-care access to the most current and comprehensive online Canadian drug and therapeutic information. It is updated biweekly.
Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database
The HTA database brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments from around the world. The abstracts in the database are descriptive rather than analytical and do not form critical appraisals of the reports. The database is produced in collaboration with the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden.
What is health technology assessment? Health care technology is defined as prevention and rehabilitation, vaccines, pharmaceuticals, and devices, medical and surgical procedures, and the systems within which health is protected and maintained. Technology assessment studies the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of development, diffusion, and the use of health technology and informs policy decisions. Its aim is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of healthcare.
Literature, Arts and Medicine Database
Annotated multimedia listing of prose, poetry, film, video and art developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource for teaching and research in MEDICAL HUMANITIES, and for use in health/pre-health, graduate and undergraduate liberal arts and social science settings.
“Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine that uses Explorit Everywhere!, an advanced search technology by Deep Web Technologies. As an alternative to Google, Mednar accelerates your research with a search of authoritative public and deep web resources, returning the most relevant results to one easily navigable page. Unlike Google, a Mednar search occurs in real-time, retrieving relevant medical information as if you were going to each individual website yourself.”
Native Health Database
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
POPulation information onLINE (world's largest database on reproductive health) provides citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Telemedicine Information Exchange
A comprehensive, international, quality-filtered resource for information about telemedicine, telehealth, and telemedicine/telehealth related activities.
"The Therapeutics Initiative (TI) was established in 1994 by the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics in cooperation with the Department of Family Practice at The University of British Columbia with its mission to provide physicians and pharmacists with up-to-date, evidence-based, practical information on prescription drug therapy.
To reduce bias as much as possible the TI is an independent organization, separate from government, pharmaceutical industry and other vested interest groups. We strongly believe in the need for independent assessments of evidence on drug therapy to balance the drug industry sponsored information sources."
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.