LibGuides: Engineering -- Biomedical Engineering: Find Books & Reference Sources

E-Book Collections

ASM Handbooks Online
Features the complete content of twenty American Society for Metals (ASM) Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Great for Civil and Mechanical Engineering.
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences
An original collection of PDF e-books for researchers, instructors, and advanced-level students in the biomedical life sciences.
Each PDF e-book in the digital library is an accessible overview of a research area/topic, authored by a leading expert in the field. They are intended as timesaving research tools for non-specialists in related fields, and as teaching materials for upper-level courses in the biomedical life sciences.
O'Reilly Learning (fka Safari Books Online)
O'Reilly (formerly known as Safari) provides access to leading titles in business, coding, technology, communications, management, design, marketing, leadership, sales, and operations. Content includes thousands of eBooks, videos, learning paths, expert-curated courses, and interactive learning environments.

Synthesis Lectures on Biomedical Engineering
The series is designed to meet the demands of the 21st century technology and the rapid advancements in the all-encompassing field of biomedical engineering that includes biochemical processes, biomaterials, biomechanics, bioinstrumentation, physiological modeling, biosignal processing, bioinformatics, biocomplexity, medical and molecular imaging, rehabilitation engineering, biomimetic nano-electrokinetics, biosensors, biotechnology, clinical engineering, biomedical devices, drug discovery and delivery systems, tissue engineering, proteomics, functional genomics, and molecular and cellular engineering.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. We believe that they offer unique value to the reader by providing more analysis and depth than the typical research journal article. They are also more dynamic and convenient than traditional print or digital handbooks, contributed volumes, and monographs.

Synthesis Lectures on Tissue Engineering
The field of Tissue Engineering straddles biology, medicine, and engineering, and it is this multi-disciplinary nature that is bound to revolutionize treatments for a plethora of tissue and organ problems.

Springer eBooks (SpringerLink)
Access available to eBooks published 2005 onward and from sciences, social sciences and humanities disciplines. Subjects include: Computer science, engineering, political science, business & management, life sciences,education and more.

The Biomedical Engineering Handbook
R856.15 B56 2006
vol. 1 - 3
Biomedical Materials and Diagnostic Devices [electronic resource]
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons ; Salem, Mass. : Scrivener Pub., c2012
Handbook of Biomaterial Properties [electronic resource
Covers intrinsic and interactive properties of biomaterials, both implantable materials and natural tissues and fluids.

Encyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation
Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Interscience, c2006
Call Number: Reference R856 A3E53 2006

Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology
Author: Pei-Show Juo / Boca Raton: CRC Press, c2002
Call Number: Reference R121 J86 2002
Edition: 2nd

We are here to help you! Just ask us!

Ask us online

Ask us by text

Ask us by email Askus@uvic.ca

Ask us by phone - leave a message and we'll call you back

You can also consult with a subject librarian, make an appointment with a librarian, or pop a question into the box below.