The ideal
Computerized decision support system that matches information from individual patients with the best current guidelines for care.
RNAO Best Practice Guidelines - http://rnao.ca/bpg
CMA Guidelines - http://www.cma.ca/index.php/ci_id/54316/la_id/1.htm
National Guidelines Clearinghouse - http://guideline.gov/
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly. Note: guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information resource designed to assist with diagnosis and treatment. With UpToDate, you can answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge and improve patient care.
Information is presented in the form of topic reviews, each one addressing a particular clinical issue; those on treatment or management topics include recommendations. Topic reviews contain links to other related topics and are fully illustrated and referenced. You can view related charts, x-rays, photographs, movies and Medline abstracts by clicking on the associated links. There is complete access to an extensive drug database.
Critically appraised individual articles and in some cases, a structured abstract and expert commentary are provided.
Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine. The editors of this journal screen the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article.
American College of Physicians - American Society of Internal Medicine (ACP-ASIM)
Internal medicine focus
Abstracts to journal articles selected according to explicit criteria from major peer-reviewed medical journals
Various evidence based nursing journals:
Titles at UVic:
Evidence based nursing journal
International journal of evidence-based healthcare
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Gold Standard' for high-quality systematic reviews
Full-text included in Cochrane Library
Cochrane Reviews includes complete reviews and protocols (reviews that are still in progress)
Cochrane Reviews abstracts are in PubMed
Includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.
prepared by the National Health Service Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York, England
Complements the Cochrane Reviews by offering a selection of quality assessed reviews in those subjects where there is currently no Cochrane review
Brief critical appraisals of previously published reviews of the effects of health care
Structured abstracts, not full-text
DARE not indexed in PubMed, but original research articles may be
Metasearch Engines
Began in 1997 as a result of the work of the founders (Jon Brassey and Dr Chris Price) answering clinical questions. As well as being quick, the clinical questions needed to be answered using the best available evidence. Provides leading resources for Evidence-Based Medicine. Allowing users to easily and rapidly identify the highest quality evidence from a wide range of sources.
Simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews and practice guidelines from multiple sources and displays them accordingly. According to its website, on the fly searches for reviews via SUMSearch are revised up to as many as six (6) times while searches for guidelines and systematic reviews are revised once each. This form of searching is called contingency or backup searching and is one of the main reason why response times are never quite what one expects in SUMSearch . In any case, search results are culled from PubMed, DARE and NGC and then merged and sorted. As SUMSearch executes live searches of external websites in response to queries, it alleges that it is "...always up-to-date."
Upon entering your search terms, SUMSearch 2 will search the following resources
Depending of the search focus, SUMSearch will search PubMed with the highest sensitivity filters developed by Haynes et al.
Looking for original research articles but only choosing the "best evidence"
Use strategies to get the best research articles.
Use CINAHL, Medline to find the best research articles.
Ask us