Skip to Main Content
English Databases for Asian Studies
Anthropology Plus
Focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities. With coverage dating as far back as 1908.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
The database include publication citations that cover all subjects related to East, Southeast and South Asia.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
JSTOR
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
PAIS International and Archive
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Project MUSE
Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and index of the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Pacific and Asian Studies, Social Work, and Sociology.
Academic Databases from Asia
CAJ Chinese Journals Fulltext Database (CNKI)
CAJ is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. There are 10 Series databases--Science and Engineering (ABC), Agriculture, Medicine/Hygiene, Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law, Education/Social Science, Electronics/Information Science; These are further divided into 168 Subject databases. At present, the library subscribes to the following two series: Series F: Literature/History and Philosophy (1994-) Series H:Education/Social Sciences (2014-)
CiNii
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. Note: UVic has an institutional site license entitling access to fixed price articles, but fee-based materials require individual registration and additional payments.
Ask us