17th and 18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersA digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets of the 17th and 18th centuries from the United Kingdom. This collection includes: British Journal; Daily Courant; Daily Gazetteer; Daily Post; Evening Post; General Advertiser; Lloyd's Evening Post and British Chronicle; London Chronicle; London Evening Post; London Gazette; Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser; St. James' Chronicle or, British Evening Post; Whitehall Evening Post, or London Intelligencer.
19th Century British NewspapersCollection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain. This full-text, fully searchable digital archive includes 50 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world.
19th Century UK PeriodicalsFully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the 19th century - from art to business, and from children to politics. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original colour work has been specially captured for this programme.
Access World NewsAccess World News provides extensive global news coverage at any level: local, state, regional, national and international.
89 newspapers from British Columbia are also included, going back to 2004 (some are earlier). These include the 100 Mile House Free Press, Gulf Islands Driftwood, Saanich News, and Oak Bay News.
Daily Mail Historical ArchiveAn online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in the Daily Mail (London), 1896-2004.
Eighteenth Century Journals PortalMakes available digitally for the first time unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals, each chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835.
Eureka.CCNewscan (Eureka) offers full-text access to more than 8,000 general and specialized news sources covering a variety of fields, including politics, economy, current world issues, environment, health, and arts and culture. Includes newspapers as well as transcripts of television and radio news programs including The National, Saturday Report, Canada AM and CTV News Of special note, this product includes the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television.
Currently limited to 2 (two) concurrent users.
Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012A major British daily newspaper, with a long-time tagline of "free from party political bias, free from proprietorial influence." It is known for its unabashed editorial stance on such issues as the legalization of drugs, the war on terrorism, and environmental issues. Despite its left-centrist social and political positioning, the paper has featured a number of conservative columnists and is broadly pro-market on economic issues.
Nexis UniFull-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
Sunday Times Digital ArchiveAs an online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Sunday Times (London), The Sunday Times Digital Archive is an essential resource for teachers, students and researchers interested in history, politics, social and cultural history, law, genealogy and criminology.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957Comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour.
Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things – from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster – all caught in a single moment in time.
19th Century UK PeriodicalsFully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the 19th century - from art to business, and from children to politics. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original colour work has been specially captured for this programme.
Ask us