Find Articles - HSTR 320A - British Monarchy Since 1689 - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Journal Collections

Selected journal collections to help you with your research.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO includes a variety of materials — from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements — and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Included are works from women writers of the eighteenth century; collections on the French Revolution; and numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal Makes available digitally for the first time unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals, each chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) A resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
19th Century UK Periodicals Fully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the 19th century - from art to business, and from children to politics. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original colour work has been specially captured for this programme.
British Periodicals Collection Hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

CAIRN
A comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in history, psychology, economics, political science and sociology (2001-).
ConnectedHistories A not-for-profit project, Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
Internet Library of Early Journals
ILEJ, the "Internet Library of Early Journals" was a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data.
more...less...
Each journal contains at least 20 consecutive years of full-text reproduction.

Currently available 18thC journals:

* Gentleman's Magazine
* The Annual Register
* Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society

Currently available 19thC journals:

* Notes and Queries
* The Builder
* Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine

Periodicals Archive Online An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text™) offers unprecedented access to international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995.
Cairn Collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities. The primary subject areas covered by the collection are history, psychology, economics, political science and sociology.

Useful Databases

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature A print index to popular and general interest Anglo-American and European periodicals from 19th century and early 20th century. Location: McPherson Library, Reference, Call Number: Reference AI3 P7 1958

America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts Index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Guide on published writing on British and Irish history covering the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
Humanities Index Index of over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities Index Index of over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Humanities Abstracts Cites articles for more than 700 periodicals, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, philosophy, theology and much more. Indexing goes back to 1984, and abstracts back to 1994.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Wellesley Index to Victoria Periodicals, is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry. Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals available via C19: The Nineteenth Century Index. Accessible via Index in Advanced Search or through Browse, selecting Periodicals, and choosing Wellesley Index.”