HRAF and eHRAF

Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cultural anthropology. Founded in 1949 at Yale University, HRAF is a not-for-profit membership consortium of universities, colleges, and research institutions. Its mission is to provide information that facilitates the cross-cultural study of human behavior, society and culture. In the 1930s, behavioral scientists at Yale's Institute of Human Relations started to develop a classification of cultural information by subject, providing quick access to research materials. HRAF grew out of these efforts. Today, HRAF is committed to developing dynamic, fully-indexed electronic collections on the World Wide Web. HRAF publishes a variety of material on microforms, electronically, and in print.

eHRAF World Cultures A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University.

HRAF (Microfiche)
HRAF on microfiche is a fully indexed collection of books, articles, and documents created to aid scholars in cross cultural research. eHRAF does not replace HRAF on microfiche. Some cultures represented in HRAF are not present in eHRAF.
HRAF Source Bibliography
Arranged by OWC classification, the entries are broken down into region, country and culture. Each regional entry contains a list of cultural entities and their corresponding references or bibliography. Use this to find authors of the works contained in HRAF. Reference GN345.3 H2
Outline of World Cultures
The Outline of World Cultures was developed by George Murdock in the 1930s to identify cultural groupings and to aid in the process of cross cultural research. In the OWC, each culture is arranged geographically first by region and then by country. Reference GN345.3 O88

N = North America
Outline of Cultural Materials
The Outline of Cultural Materials is the list of subjects used to index the various texts within HRAF. Browse numerically or skim the alphabetical listing. GN34 Y36 1971