LibGuides: European Studies: Newspapers

Using Library Online newspapers

The library purchases many newspaper databases. There are many advantages to using these purchased databases over using a free web version that you found using Google. The library newspaper databases include the full text of all news articles with the ability to download. Current articles are included as well as historic articles (anywhere from 10 to a 100 years).

Use Europa World (link below) to locate the names of leading newspapers for a particular country.

Europa World Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Online newspapers

Access World News
Access World News including The Guardian (UK), Financial Times

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Also includes over 40 African news sources.
89 newspapers from British Columbia are also included, going back to 2004 (some are earlier). These include the 100 Mile House Free Press, Gulf Islands Driftwood, Saanich News, and Oak Bay News.
Canadian Newsstream
1970s to current. Includes major and medium market Canadian newspapers from across Canada, and regional British Columbia and Yukon titles.

Agence France Press
From Access World News platform. Fulltext in English from 2004 to the present.
The Economist [electronic resource].
Links to current content via Gale, htmo without images. Also links to historical content and current website.

Economist Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2011 (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Access to the Economist's Country Reports and ViewsWire providing comprehensive economic, political, and business analysis on over 200 countries.
Eureka.CC Newscan (Eureka) offers full-text access to more than 8,000 general and specialized news sources covering a variety of fields, including politics, economy, current world issues, environment, health, and arts and culture. Includes newspapers as well as transcripts of television and radio news programs including The National, Saturday Report, Canada AM and CTV News Of special note, this product includes the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television.
Currently limited to 2 (two) concurrent users.
Europa World
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Nexis Uni
Includes news coverage, laws, and court cases of the European Union and other countries. Includes New York Time, Guardian, and the Financial Times.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm
ProQuest's Digital Microfilm provides online access to the following newspapers from 2011 to 3 months ago:
National Post
Montreal Gazette
Vancouver Sun
Times Colonist
And the following from 2008 to 3 months ago:
New York Times
Wall Street Journal
Washington Post
Like traditional microfilm, there is no search function.

Historical Newspapers available Online

Here are listed full newspapers available online (as opposed to those resources which include articles from newspapers in a database). These are browseable by title and date, just as if you were turning real pages, but they are also searchable in various ways.

New York Times (1851 - 2010 )
(1851-2007) The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
Proquest Digital Microform including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, National Post, Montreal Gazette,Vancouver Sun, Times Colonist
ProQuest's Digital Microfilm provides online access to recent years of the following newspapers:
National Post
Montreal Gazette
Vancouver Sun
Times Colonist
New York Times 2008 - 2014
Wall Street Journal
Washington Post
Browse only, no search function.
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785 - 2008
A full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-2008. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level
Times Colonist 2011 - 2014 Cick on "Select" to Choose Times Colonist. Available in this digital pdf microfilm version from January 2013. For earlier years consult microfilm reels at Microfilm AN5 T5 Accession no.814
Wall Street Journal (1889-1996 )
(1889-1993) The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
Washington Post (1877 - 1997)
(1877-1994) The Washington Post offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
Google News Archive - Browse by title. Hundreds of newspapers from all over the world, including much Canadian content, digitized by Google.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail Includes the full pages of The Globe and Mail from 1844 to 2012.
Economist Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2011 (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.

Europeana Newspapers
A group of 17 European partner institutions have joined forces in the “Europeana Newspapers” project and will, over the next 3 years, provide more than 18 million newspaper pages to the EUROPEANA service.