Skip to Main Content
We are here to help you! Just ask us!
Ask us online
Ask us by text
Ask us by email Askus@uvic.ca
Ask us by phone - leave a message and we'll call you back
You can also consult with a subject librarian, make an appointment with a librarian, or pop a question into the box below.
Selected Web Resources
AITopics is the Internet's largest collection of information about the research, the people, and the applications of Artificial Intelligence.
arXiv.org is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation. (from arxiv.org)
Learn to code interactively, for free
CogPrints is a free, full-text e-print archive of published, peer-reviewed journal postprints plus prepublication unrefereed preprints in the cognitive sciences, covering psychology, behavioral biology, computer science, linguistics, philosophy and related disciplines.
BASE: Computer Science Resources
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The bibliographies are updated weekly from their original locations such that you'll always find the most recent versions here.
Computational Science Education Reference Desk
The Computational Science Education Reference Desk (CSERD) is a Pathways portal of the National Science Digital Library and funded by the National Science Foundation. CSERD aims to help students learn about computational science and to help faculty and teachers incorporate it into the classroom.
Information and calculating resources for working in science and technology.
Open Textbook Library
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The QUBES platform hosts hundreds of STEM teaching materials, reference materials, and cloud-based software free to use and adapt using open Creative Commons licenses.
Simmons Open Access Directory
List of Computer Science open access data repositories
The Springer LaTeX search lets you search through over 3,146,129 LaTeX code snippets to find the equation you need.
Computer Science and Source Code Repositories
One of the largest code hosts with over 24 million repositories
Project Hosting on Google Code provides a free collaborative development environment for open source projects.
An open source suite of tools that help people and teams to work together on software projects.
A resource for open source software development and distribution.