China: Culture and SocietySpanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors’ choices from the collection.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980(1793-1980) Unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. All of the printed materials (including the typescript records of Chinese Maritime Customs officials) have been double-keyed and are full-text searchable.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980Available in three sections covering the periods 1949-1956; 1957-1966; and 1967-1980; this project addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People’s Republic, in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.
Chinese Christian Texts Database (CCT-Database)The Chinese Christian Texts Database (CCT-Database) is a research database of primary and secondary sources concerning the cultural contacts between China and Europe in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries (from 1582 to ca. 1840). The cultural contacts comprise documents in the various fields of cultural interaction: religion, philosophy, science, art, etc.
Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, CFPD offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture.
This digital archive contains the original correspondence between the British Colonial Office and the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia. It includes descriptions of the activities of Chinese immigrants in BC.
Digital Silk Road Project is a digital humanities research project about creating digital archives of cultural heritage based on collaboration between informatics and humanities.
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR)JACAR is a digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia as well as elsewhere. This site provides access to official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy. In an effort to share history as it has been documented, JACAR's archives showcase the original records, including full images of the documents, all in digitized form, on an unprecedented scale.
This is database of primary sources about the Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945). It provides key-word search and full-text access to the magazines, pamphlets, pictures, archives and audio/visual materials.
From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids.
Shen Bao (short for Shen jiang xin bao) was a newspaper published in Shanghai, China from April 30, 1872 until May 27, 1949. It is one of the most important primary resources that reflect the Republican China history. To search the database, please do not use simplified Chinese. The search terms need to be in traditional Chinese characters.
This was an official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule. The paper was published in Japanese from 1898-1944, and added Chinese text from 1905-1911. It is one of the most indispensable resources for the study of Taiwanese history during the colonial period. which was an official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule.
This collection documents the founding and history of Victoria’s CCBA, as well as the local Chinese Canadian community’s response to such things as the head taxes, the public school segregation act, and other important events.
The Wallace B. Chung and Madeline H. Chung Collection contains more than 25,000 rare and unique items (documents, books, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, silver, glass, ceramic ware and other artifacts).
The films vividly document significant social, cultural and political events in Chinatown and other areas of downtown Victoria and surrounding neighborhoods, Vancouver Island, the City of Vancouver and the Lower Mainland.
The Project brings together and makes accessible in a single, searchable database over 6000 Chinese Canadian artifacts held by 16 local and regional museums throughout British Columbia. It will be useful for anyone interested in Chinese immigration history in B.C.
While few physical vestiges of Nanaimo's once thriving Chinese community remain, the story of Chinese settlement offers fascinating insight into one of Nanaimo's oldest communities and the important contribution this community made to the development of the city.
The Tom Leung Archival Collection of the Chinese Royal Society in the Early Twentieth Century was a private archival collection of Dr. Tom Leung (谭良), which contains about three hundred letters related to the activities of the Royal Society (保皇会) in North America. The archival collection includes over ten letters of Kang Youwei (康有为) and Liang Qichao (梁启超), written during the Royal Society movement in early twentieth century. Dr. Tom Leung, a student and supporter of Kang Youwei, was the head of the Royal Society in North America, and this collection was donated by Louise Leung Larson, the daughter of Dr. Tom Leung. This online collection makes it possible for researchers to access these important letters for the study of early modern Chinese history. [Abstract from the UCLA website]
Provides online access to a total of over 60,000 items in full-text from the Collection of Taiwan-related Documents in the Ming-Qing Imperial Archives and the Collection of Land Deeds in Taiwan.
Free registration is required.