Chinese Studies

NCL’s Digital Audio Visual Archive System had already over 458,000 metadata records, and over 500,000 streaming files

It contains contain 1261 translations of 565 texts.

Searches can be conducted in the following manners: (1) browse by issue or (2) conduct full-text search of authors, types, titles, keywords, and abstracts.

OPEN ACCESS

Open-access

It is a powerful research tool to allow researchers to do keyword search across over 400 rare gazetteers and download the content in CVS files. A bunch of visualization tools are provided as well. You need to sign up for a free account to use it. Searches need to be done in traditional Chinese characters.

The huge collection has rich CJK materials digitized. Items out of copyright can be read online

It contains some 17,800 historical figures and 25,700 connections among them.

You can search and download full-text articles from 1872-2004

The ISBNnet database collects all ISBN/CIP bibliographic records which have been published in Taiwan area.

A collection of oral histories from survivors of the Great Famine that devastated rural China between 1958 and 1961

This system contains the largest integrated catalog and the most complete types of information available in Taiwan, including over 50 catalog resources, 16 million records.

Many books can be read online full-text.

Some collection items can be read online. Personal registration will allow more reading privilege.

Full text are available for some ancient titles

Funded by the Chiang Ching-Kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange, the Institute of History and Philology and the National Institute of Korean History of Korea exchanged their collections of the Veritable Records of the Ming, the Veritable Records of the Qing and the Annals of the Joseon Dynasty and collaborated on the making of a full text digital archive of the three historical data.

It provides search in millions of archive documents from the Ming, Qing and Republican China periods. All metadata and text extracts are open-access. To access original images, researchers need to contact the individual database provider.

The index of articles published in over 300 periodicals from Hong Kong