Scholarly Use of AI tools

Current status

Official guidelines on how to reference A.I. generated or assisted text:

• On April 7, 2023, APA published a blog post as their official guideline on how to cite text from a generative A.I. tool, with a main focus on ChatGPT.

What is new in APA's official approach to referencing A.I. generated text?

• The main difference from APA's unofficial interim approach, which had been expressed by APA style experts in several e-mail exchanges with educators, is the abundance of the suggestion to cite it A.I. assisted or generated text as personal communication.
• In its official guide, APA argues that personal communication can only occur between human individuals, and that their guidelines on how to cite A.I. generated text will therefore be based on their rules on how to reference software (section 10.10 of the APA Publication Manual), which they previously had proposed only in cases where A.I. assisted or generated text was publicly retrievable.

General guidelines

Two characteristics of text generated by ChatGPT and similar A.I. tools should guide your APA style referencing:

• Non-repeatability: ChatGPT (and other A.I. tools based on Large Language Models(LLMs)) will generate a unique response in each chat session, even if given the same prompt.
• Non-retrievability: ChatGPT generated text is currently not directly retrievable.
  Please note: This is not a specific  characteristic of LLM-based tools, but rather a choice in software design. for ChatGPT there are third-party applications providing workarounds. And some other LLM-based tools might provide output that is directly retrievable. For example, text from Perplexity.ai, an A.I. powered search engine, is retrieavable, including under an individual, publicly accessible URL. Sample URL: https://www.perplexity.ai/search/ad3aefab-2d66-4907-b5bd-87d8173a036e?s=c 

These core elements on A.I. usage should be shared in an APA style publication:

• General A.I. usage: The fact that you used A.I. in your scholarly work.
• Specific application: How has an A.I. tool been used in your research, writing, etc.
• Exact prompt: The wording with which you have prompted the A.I. tool in question.

Where to disclose these core elements in your publication:

• In original, peer-reviewed research publications: In the method section or a smilar part of your manuscript, describe how you used the A.I. tool in question for your research.
• Secondary scholarly publications: In the introduction of your publication of a literature review or other types of essays or response or reaction papers, describe how you used the tool.
• For both: In your text, provide the prompt you used and then any portion of the relevant text that was generated in response.

Implications for an APA style publication:

• Appendices or supplements: APA suggests to put the full text of any long responses in an appendix or in online supplemental materials to your publication, so readers have access to the exact text that was generated.

Application of APA guidelines

Template

How to use this template

Author
The author of the model (tool)

Date
The date is the year of the version you used. Following the template in Section 10.10, you need to include only the year, not the exact date. The → Version Number provides the specific date information a reader might need. 

Title
The name of the model (tool). 

Version Number
The version number of the model/tool is included after the title in parentheses. 

Additional Descriptions
Additional descriptions are used in references as bracketed text, for when they are needed to help a reader understand what’s being cited.  References for a number of common sources, such as journal articles and books, do not include bracketed descriptions, but things outside of the typical peer-reviewed system often do. In the case of a reference for ChatGPT, provide the descriptor “Large language model” in square brackets. OpenAI describes ChatGPT-4 as a “large multimodal model,” so that description may be provided instead if you are using ChatGPT-4. Later versions and software or models from other companies may need different descriptions, based on how the publishers describe the model. The goal of the bracketed text is to briefly describe the kind of model to your reader.

Source

When the publisher name and the author name are the same, do not repeat the publisher name in the source element of the reference, and move directly to the URL. This is the case for ChatGPT. The URL for ChatGPT is https://chat.openai.com/chat. For other models or products for which you may create a reference, use the URL that links as directly as possible to the source (i.e., the page where you can access the model, not the publisher’s homepage).

Current status of AI citation in CMOS

• Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) provides guidelines for citing AI-based text.
• The authoritative CMOS guidelines are part of Chicago Manual of Style 18th ed., released in August 2024.
• They replace the original, provisional guidelines that can still be found in the Q&A section of CMOS Online. 
• The new CMOS 18th ed. recommendations can be summarized as follows (includes links to CMOS Online, only accessible to users affiliated with institutions subscribing to this resource):

Concrete AI citation guidelines in CMOS 18

1. Mandatory disclosure of any AI use

• Disclosing the use of "a chatbot or similar AI tool" as an author in any way is mandatory (including, but not limited to using text generated by such a tool).

2. Transparency regarding the nature of AI use

• CMOS 18 demands authors to disclose how they used the technology, "either in the text or in a preface or the like".

3. Using specific content generated with the help of AI

• Specifically using AI-generated text or other content "whether quoted or paraphrased, should be cited where it occurs, either in the text or in a note". 

4. Does AI use go into the reference list?

• It depends: 
  • CMOS 18 states that "chatbot conversations are not usually included in a bibliography or reference list"

Older guidelines, now defunct:

• A 'conversation' with an AI chatbot is being treated as a form of personal communication (see CMOS 14.214 and 15.53), due to the unretrievable character of such output.
  • Some tools might provide an individualized URL to the text they created (e.g. https://chat.openai.com/chat/34a5d465-2cc7-430f-b70c-6cda97a91dc2)
  • Currently, others cannot access that text - it is only accessible from the individual user's account, for whom it was created.
• Output from A.I. tools like ChatGPT should not be included in a bibliography or reference list.
• If the A.I.-generated text was edited, it should be made clear (e.g., "edited for style and content")
  • It is not necessary to disclose layout changes (like switching the font, etc.). Those can be imposed silently (see CMOS 13.7 and 13.8)

Application of CMOS guidelines

Template

For a formal citation of A.I. generated text in a note, CMOS Online provides the following template:

How to use this template:

Author
The A.I. tool (in our example ChatGPT) is the author of the content

Date
The date the text was generated

Publisher
The organization that provides the A.I. tool in question is listed as the publisher or sponsor of the content (in our example, OpenAI is listed, because it is the company that created ChatGPT).

Location
Provide the general URL where the tool may be found (not an individual URL for a conversation, as mentioned above)

Prompt
If the prompt (= the text input on the tool's command-line that defines the query to the ChatBot, usually in natural language) has not been included in the manuscript, it can be included in the note.

Examples

1.  Using a note

2. Alternative: Using author-date

If instead of a note, author-date is being used, any information not in the text would be placed in a parenthetical text reference.

References

University of Chicago Press. 2024. „Citing AI-generated content.“ In The Chicago Manual of Style Online. 18th ed. https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed18/part3/ch14/psec112.html.

Current status

There is no official authority behind Harvard Style that maintains and develops this citation style; instead, there are numerous local variations and local applications of the basic rules. Thus, there is no official guideline for citing an A.I. tool such as ChatGPT, Bing Search, etc. at this time (March 21, 2023). Our current recommendation is to cite A.I. text content like personal communication. We are monitoring the librarian and academic discussions on this topic and will adjust our recommendations accordingly as consensus emerges on how to address this issue.

General guidelines

• Cite text generated with the help of an A.I. tool like personal communication. 
• The details of that communication can be provided paraphased in running text or in parentheses. 
• Cite personal communications in-text only. You do not need to create an entry in the reference list.
• It can be seen as good practice in any style, to reference the prompt, that helped generate the text you are citing. 

Application of interim guidelines for Harvard style

Template

Your citation should include the following elements and format:

Example

Current status 

• As of March 29, 2023, IEEE has not yet released any official guideline on how to cite an A.I. tool like ChatGPT, Bing Search, etc. 

General guidelines

• Current advise is, to treat A.I. generated text as private communication.
• You do not need to include an entry in the reference list.
• For details, see IEEE reference guide, section II.Q.: "Unpublished". IEEE, 2020, updated 12 August 2022

Application of interim guidelines for IEEE style

Template

Example

Current status

• As of May 19, 2023, MLA's Style Center's recommendations on how to cite A.I.-generated content are based on their core template of elements.
• MLA's suggestions can be summarized as follows:

General guidelines

• Cite content of any kind that was generated with the help of an A.I. tool – no matter if you paraphrase it, quote it, or incorporate it into your own work.
• Additionally, disclose any operational applications of such an A.I. tool, such as editing your writing or translating words, through a note, within your text, or at another appropriate location. 
• Carefully examine any sources referenced by AI tools and give credit to them in your work. This is crucial as these tools can sometimes provide inaccurate information, and due to their operational mechanisms, they may generate ('hallucinate') false but plausible-sounding information and even sources.

Application of MLA guidelines

Template

How to apply MLA's template to citing generative A.I.:

Author
Avoid treating the AI tool as an author, in line with policies from various publishers, including MLA's journal PMLA.

Title of Source
Describe the AI-generated content, possibly mentioning the prompt in the Title of Source element if not already done in the text.

Title of Container
Name the AI tool in the Title of Container element (e.g., ChatGPT).

Version
Specify the A.I. tool's version as accurately as possible. Note that ChatGPT and GPT-3.5 are distinct entities; GPT-3.5 refers to the underlying large language model, not a version of ChatGPT.

Date
Provide the date when the content was generated.

Publisher
Identify the company that created the tool.

Location
Supply the general URL for the tool.

Examples

MLA-specific note: Use of external tools to make conversations with A.I. tools accessible

• As of March 29, 2023, MLA is currently the only style provider that officially suggests considering workarounds to make A.I. created text - specifically for ChatGPT - retrievable.
• As of March 2023, ChatGPT lacks an integrated function for generating a distinct URL for a specific conversation.
• Nevertheless, external utilities like the Chrome add-on ShareGPT can create this type of link.
• When utilizing a tool like this, make sure to incorporate the exclusive URL produced by the utility rather than the generic URL.
• Please find more detailed information – also on the retrievability of text generated by tools other than ChatGPT – in the tab about → Retrievability

Current status

• Vancouver has not yet released any official guideline on how to cite an A.I. tool like ChatGPT, Bing Search, etc.

General Guidelines

• Current advise is, to treat A.I. generated text as personal communication.
• Your document should include the following elements and format:
  • Type of communication
  • Communicator
  • Date in the following format: (Day Month Year)

Application of interim guidelines

Example

Citation guidelines for A.I.-generated text that is retrievable
In accordance with the approaches taken in the official MLA guidelines and the APA guidelines for citing AI-generated text, we explain here how to retrieve such content. 

Current status: Retrievability of A.I. generated text

• A number of the text-based generative A.I. tools on the market provide their output in a retrievable way (as of August 11, 2023):
  • Perplexity.ai, a search engine based on a large language model, allows the creation of custom URLs for its answers.
    • These are publicly available once they have been created. Example.
  • ChatGPT, OpenAI's chatbot, offers its users a feature to share their interactions.
    • Individual URLs for each conversation thread can be created. Example.
    • Several options allow users to customize how a conversation is shared, including the ability to keep it private or even delete it. More information about these functionalities can be found here.
    • OpenAI also allows for a workaround by using third-party apps (usually browser extensions).
  • Bing Chat, Microsoft's combination of the Bing search engine and OpenAI's large language model GPT-4, offers an export of its search results and dialogs with it.
    • Content generated by Bing can be exported as MS Word, PDF or unformated text files.
  • Google Bard, Google's chatbot, allows for the export of generated content into Google Docs or as a GMail draft.
    • As of August 11, 2023 is not yet accessible in Canada

Tipp: Archiving website-based text that is retrievable

Since there is no certainty about the long-term preservation of the web pages generated by the aforementioned third-party tools that make the AI-generated text accessible, you should consider preserving a snapshot of each of these web pages by feeding it into a web archiving service such as the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.

Current Status
In the commentary section of their blogpost from April 7, 2023, on how to cite text generated by ChatGPT and similar tools, APA has replied to a question about how to cite visual content generated by or with the assistance of an A.I. tool.

Interim Guidelines

If you have used image- or video-generating tools, you can follow the guidelines in the post about A.I. generated text

A short summary:

• Explain your methodology of how you used the A.I. tool in your paper.
• To create the reference, follow the principles outlined in the post to determine the author, date, title, and source elements for the software.

Whether to include the images or videos as figures, appendices, or supplemental materials would be a decision to discuss with your instructor or editor. There may also be copyright issues to consider (see, e.g., these articles about a recent U.S. Copyright Office decision). 

Additional tip from UVic Libraries (subject to change)

Depending on the specific image generation tool you use, and its specific featueres, we advise to study sections 10.12–10.14 of the APA Publication Manual, 7th edition, specifically the guidelines on how to cite an clip art or stock images that requires an attribution. Clip art/stock images might be the visual content form featured in the APA Style guide that is closest to A.I. generated images, and said A.I.-based images do need referencing as well.

Current status

Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) Online has released guidelines on how to reference visual A.I. generated art. According to CMOS Online's guidelines, it is crucial to credit the source when including an A.I.-created image in your project (see also CMOS 3.29 – CMOS 3.37). CMOS Online is referring to an article by OpenAI on how to cite an image created using their tool DALL·E 2, which is suggesting wording like "This image was created with the assistance of DALL·E 2" or "This image was generated with the assistance of AI".

Example

The credit for that image in Chicago style might read as follows (with the prompt used to generate the image in quotation marks): 

Chicago Style has based this guideline on how OpenAI has suggested work created with their application DALL-E 2 should be credited. Please keep in mind that other companies providing image A.I. generation tools may have different preferences on how visual art generated with the help of their technology should be cited.

Information coming soon.

Current Status
MLA has released guidelines on how to cite content generated by A.I. 

General Advice
In accordance with those guidelines it is crucial to caption an A.I.-created image as outlined in Section 1.7 of the MLA Handbook when incorporating it in your project.

Template
MLA recommends providing a description based on the prompt, followed by the A.I. tool used, its version, its provider, the creation date, and – depending on the availability of a publishing feature for the images generated with the chosen tool – the URL of the published image. If publishing such an image, making it accessible with an individual URL, is not possible with the tool of your choice, include the general URL to that tool instead.

Example

The full credit for this image according to MLA style might read as follows: 

Note: The same elements (prompt, A.I. tool used, version, creation date, individual image or general tool URL) can be used for a works-cited-list entry, if you choose that over including the full citation in the caption (see MLA Handbook, sec. 1.7).

Pending lawsuits (as of August 15, 2023)

• DreamUp 
• DeviantArt
• Midjourney 
• Stability AI (company behind the AI image generator Stable Diffusion)

More detailed information coming soon.

General: Retrievability of images
In accordance with MLA's approach in their official guidelines for citing A.I.-generated visual content, we explain here how to publish such content, if possible, and make it retrievable. 

How-to make A.I. generated images retrievable

As of April 4, 2023, some of the A.I. tools for image generation that are available to the wider public offer features to publish images generated with them, providing a platform and individual URLs to retrieve them. The image generation applications that allow for publication of content created with them are:

• MidJourney
  • Creates individual URLs that are publicly accessible.
  • Example: https://www.perplexity.ai/search/ad428f60-1f95-4753-a9b2-6c6b1dac1524
• DALL-E 2 (OpenAI)
  • Per default, images generated by DALL-E 2 are not accessible/retrievable
  • Users of DALL-E 2 can choose to publish their creations, which will produce individual URLs under which anyone with that link can access the published images.
  • Example: https://labs.openai.com/s/7DTSjEDro0rRUG1y6jWLvTZM

Tipp: Archiving published images

Since currently there is no certainty about the long-term preservation of any A.I.-generated content, you should consider preserving a snapshot of your published images by feeding it them into a web archiving service such as the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine. 

Example: https://web.archive.org/web/20230404193313/https://labs.openai.com/s/7DTSjEDro0rRUG1y6jWLvTZM