LibGuides: Social Work: Theses & dissertations

Why explore theses and dissertations?

There are a few reasons you might explore theses and dissertations:

If you are embarking on writing your own thesis or dissertation, you may want to look at examples that others have written. (You could also ask your supervisor as they could probably recommend a few exemplars from your field of study.)
While you might not necessary want to read an entire thesis or dissertation, if you can find one on the area you're interested in researching, you can scan their literature review/bibliography for resources.

Dissertations and Theses @UVic A service provided to universities that actively publish their graduate students' dissertations and theses with ProQuest's UMI® Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ enables individual universities to access the citations and abstracts of all their student's dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
CRL Foreign Doctoral Dissertations This collection is of dissertations produced for non-U.S. universities. It includes the early thought of some major figures in 20th-Century intellectual life, including Albert Schweitzer, Dag Hammarskjold, Albert Einstein and scores of other Nobel prize winners. The collection also includes several dissertations from English universities about Islam and international politics.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.