Skip to Main Content
Depending on your topic, you may want to explore some of these research databases. If your topic is multidisciplinary, meaning it might fall into a few areas (social work, psychology, etc...) you may want to search several databases, or, you may want to search using a broader search tool, like Library Search, or Google Scholar.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal)
Initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library to provide a place to find resources for Indigenous studies. Electronic copies of books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps are included.
LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBT -specific core periodicals.
Includes current coverag, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994).
Resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1966. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
The following links allow you to browse journal titles that cover content in the field of child and youth care. By browsing current issues of journals in your field, you can get a sense of the topics being studied by researchers, and you might even notice some trends.
Child and youth e-journals
E-journals on child and adolescent development, health, research, etc.
International Journal of Child, Youth and Family Studies
The International Journal of Child, Youth and Family Studies (IJCYFS) is a peer reviewed, interdisciplinary, cross-national journal that is committed to scholarly excellence in the field of research about and services for children, youth, families and their communities. It is an open access journal hosted at the University of Victoria.