UVic Libraries’ ePublishing Services, established in 2007, serves to extend the reach and reputation of the university through the publication of scholarly, artistic, and educational books and journals that advance research, teaching, and learning. Primarily a digital open access publishing program, it aims to explore new modes of scholarly publishing, while making works available simultaneously in print and digital formats, for a varied audience. In keeping with the university’s goal to “enhance the societal benefit derived through mobilization of research knowledge … across disciplines,” the program works with scholars at the university to enable success in scholarly publishing.
The aim of the program is to publish innovative and experimental works (fiction and non-fiction/journals and books) in established and new disciplines, including a focus on regional books that contribute to an understanding of and are of special benefit to British Columbia. In addition, the publishing service contributes to the scholarship of teaching by aiding and advocating for the development of textbooks created by faculty, including cultural institutions and other non-profit organizations in the community, to distribute and co-publish titles resulting from collaborative initiatives.
The ePublishing team will assist from start to finish, with a review of materials, copyright, formatting, and design. Digital publications are archived on UVicSpace (UVic’s institutional repository). Print-on-demand copies are available for purchase through the UVic Bookstore. Authors are required to supply funding for external professional services such as copy editing and book design, however Libraries staff can suggest and facilitate the application for additional grants to assist with these costs, where possible.
Contact us or visit our ePublishing site to view our press catalog.
UVic Libraries offers a suite of services related to the publication of open access monographs, as an output of grant-funded research. This alternative to traditional publishing channels provides the opportunity for wide dissemination of research, at a lower cost. The result is a professional-looking publication, openly available and permanently archived online. For examples of our past publications, please visit https://oac.uvic.ca/press/books/recent-titles/. If you are interested in this service, please submit a book proposal to press@uvic.ca.
The ePublishing team will assist from start to finish, with a review of materials, copyright, formatting, and design. Digital publications are archived on UVicSpace (UVic’s institutional repository). Print-on-demand copies are available for purchase through the UVic Bookstore. Authors are required to supply funding for external professional services such as copy editing and book design, however Libraries staff can suggest and facilitate the application for additional grants to assist with these costs, where possible.
Note: The cost structure mentioned below is a guide for those applying for grant funding.
The following services are available:
(Librarian time in-kind – $65/2hrs/chapter; Coordinator time in-kind $50/2hrs/chapter)
An experienced Scholarly Communication librarian will review your manuscript for clarity, consistency, and style. References will be checked against the relevant style manual.
(External contract – average cost $8,000 per book, depending on size and complexity)
Cover design, layout, and overall aesthetic will be discussed with the author. ePublishing Services usually contracts with an experienced book designer to work on the book design including cover, formatting of tables and images, font and headings, accessibility, etc. Cost will depend on the complexity of content and design choices. Depending on funding availability, timelines, and design requirements, the book design may alternatively be undertaken by in-house staff for design and formatting (estimate $50/4hrs/chapter depending on complexity).
(Coordinator time in-kind $50/4hrs/book depending on complexity of resources used)
UVic Libraries Copyright Coordinator will review the manuscript for potential copyright issues. The Coordinator can research and facilitate copyright permissions for items such as third-party figures and images. We may also suggest openly-sourced alternatives. The author is responsible for any associated copyright fees.
If applicable, ePublishing Services Office will advise authors on application submission and management of appropriate additional grants to support publication of research (e.g., BCcampus Open Textbook grant.)
As part of this service, the ePublishing Services Office will provide ongoing support for the project, including:
UVic Libraries wishes to promote multi-modal forms of scholarly communications, enable local control of intellectual assets, and support open access journal publishing initiatives by making available a web-hosting service to University of Victoria associated or affiliated partners (associations/societies). Our free , online journal publishing platform includes a public-facing article archive, as well as functionality for editorial workflow and review. This alternative to traditional publishing channels also offers scholars the ability to meet open access requirements and widely disseminate their research.
Our ePublishing Services team offers a suite of services related to the publication of these journals. Your editorial team is provided with ongoing support in their efforts to create a quality publication with lasting impact and discoverability. For our current journals list, please visit https://journals.uvic.ca/. If you are interested in this service, please contact press@uvic.ca.
The following services are available:
Journal set-up (Librarian time in-kind – $65/hr)
We will provide access to our Open Journal Systems (OJS) software and establish a unique account to allow the Publisher to manage (i.e., submit, edit, and publish) e-journal content. Your team will be provided with in-person and virtual training, and ongoing support for the use of this software as needed.
Journal transfer (Librarian time in-kind – $65/hr)
If your journal is moving to UVic from another location, we can assist with transfer, digitization and hosting of past archive, as well as adjustments to indexing (ISSN, etc.) as appropriate.Costs for digitizing print back issues will be determined upon review (number of issues/pages, $40/hr for image and text based media). Includes OCR for typeset materials. Note: Alternatively, the scanning of material may be available as an in-kind contribution to the project.
Indexing and discoverability (Librarian time in-kind – $65/hr)
UVic’s journals are discoverable on the web using the usual search engines (e.g., Google Scholar and third-party vendor solutions). We will assist with one-time set-up and ongoing support associated with making your journal discoverable by the scholarly community. This may include activities such as:
Assist and advise on the setup of the journal
Request an ISSN when needed
Provide a stable URL
Index in Directory of Open Access Journals, Ebsco, Proquest, Ulrichsweb, etc.
Index in UVic Libraries’ collections
Create unique Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) for each article, where applicable
Market on ePublishing website ( https://onlineacademiccommunity.uvic.ca/press/journals/faculty/)
Ongoing journal hosting (included in service)
UVic Libraries is committed to the ongoing maintenance and updating of our journals platform. When we agree to host your journal, we agree to:
Provide the Publisher with free hosting services
Digitally archive journal content
Strive, in the absence of unforeseen technical difficulties and routine maintenance, to provide 24/7 access to the “e-journal” and its contents;
Undertake to install software upgrades in a timely manner
Ask us