Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Public Administration

A guide to finding public administration resources in UVic Libraries.

Searching for resources

Research topics in public administration, dispute resolution, and community development can be very interdisciplinary in nature and therefore there really isn't one "best database" to search.  Instead, it is recommended you start your research by using a multidisciplinary search tool like the Library's Summon "Search" tool, or Google Scholar (see boxes below).  This will help you get a sense of the literature that exists on your topic, both from within the Library's collection, as well as what's available on the open Internet.

Beyond Summon and Google Scholar, the Library does have a few individual databases that are listed as "best bets" for public administration and related topics, which you can also explore.

Summon

Summon 2.0 -- UVic Libraries' search engine

 

What is Summon?

Summon is the Library's Google-like search tool.  The difference is that Summon only searches the Library's collection, which includes records for UVic books, ebooks, articles, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, videos, and more. A single search in Summon can return records from all of these sources. 

Some advantages over Google Scholar:

  • Summon provides easy access to a massive amount of print and digital information provided specifically in support of teaching and research at UVic
  • Search results include books and ebooks from the UVic collection, as well as journal articles, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more
  • Search results can be limited to scholarly or peer-reviewed sources with one click
  • Citations in your search results can be viewed in six commonly used citation formats (APA, AMA, MLA, Uniform, Chicago, and Harvard), exported to citation managers, emailed, and printed

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias

If you are unfamiliar with terminology or a topic, a dictionary or encyclopedia can be a good place to start as they can help orient you to the literature.  Encyclopedias are particularly useful as they will often include a bibliography of seminal works in the area. Below are just a few examples of these resources.  To find more like this, use the Summon search tool and then filter your search to the 'Content Type' --> Reference

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.