LibGuides: Psychology: Access reference resources

Reference Resources

If you are unfamiliar with the various schools of psychology, terminology or topics, a dictionary or encyclopedia can be a good place to start as they can help orient you to the literature. Encyclopedias are particularly useful as they will often include a bibliography of seminal works in the area. Below are just a few examples of these resources.

Encyclopedias

Handbook of Psychology
A single handbook designed to cover the broad scope of psychological science and practice
Encyclopedia of Consciousness
Coverage encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.
The Oxford Companion to the Body
This concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them.

Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods
Students and researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
A collection of case studies of real social research. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.