Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Psychology 201

This guide has been created to provide assistance for students in PSYC 201 who are working on their research assignment

Firstly, what is a peer-reviewed research article?

Watch this short video to better understand a little bit about scholarly articles and peer review.


Secondly, how do I find a peer-reviewed research article?

My top recommendation for finding peer-reviewed research articles for psychology, is to use the PsycINFO database. 

WHY?

Because it is "the" research database for psychology, and by that I mean it is the database that contains the majority of publications coming out of the field of psychology, and is widely used by researchers in the field.  The publications you will find here are things like journals, books, and dissertations --basically a lot of original research studies and experiments.

As well, searching a subject-specific database can have its benefits, in that there are lots of specialized search filters to help you uncover whatever it is you seek.

Okay, you've convinced me. How do I access this PsycINFO database, anyway?

As a UVic student, you can access PsycINFO through the Library website.  From the top of the Library homepage, click on the Search options menu > Databases > PsycINFO (it is under the Frequently used databases list)

Or, you can use the direct link to PsycINFO below.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.