LibGuides: Linguistics Data: Indigenous Languages

Primary Sources and Datasets

Lunaris - Discover Canadian Research Data
The platform provides a single point of search for Canada’s multidisciplinary research data held in a variety of repositories
Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA)
A digital language archive of both texts and multi-media materials, free of charge and need registration.
FirstVoices (FPCC)
An online space for indigenous communities to share and promote language. Over 75 language sites with stories, dictionaries, audio files and more.
Indigenous Geographical Names Data
It contains over 20,000 official place names with origins in First Nations, Inuit and Métis world-views, extracted from the Canadian Geographical Names Database. Over 60 indigenous languages are represented here.
Native Languages of the Americas
"A compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them..." The site includes dictionaries, vocabulary lists, legends, and other materials.
World's Endangered Languages
First Nations Languages of British Columbia
Some indigenous language datasets are in the formats of books, dictionaries, and archival materials. You will find sources by languages here.

Primary Sources, Statistics, Government Publications, Media

Indigenous Peoples: North America Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of Native Peoples from the 16th century well into the 20th century, Indigenous Peoples: North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. The collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.

Collections in this product include:
1. The Alaska Indian Language Collection
2. The Association on American Indian Archives
3. Citizenship Case Files of the U.S. Court in Indian Territory, 1896‐1897
4. Great Nemaha Agency Collection, 1866‐1873
5. The Indian School Journal
6. The Javitch Collection
7. Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1849‐1903
8. Moravian Mission among the Indians of North America
9. The Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 1853‐1960
10. Papers of Henry Rowe Schoolcraft
11. The Papers of the Society of American Indians, 1906‐1946
12. Records of the Creek Factory of the Office of Indian Trade of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1795‐1821
13. W. S. Prettyman Photograph Collection

FirstVoices The internationally recognized online Indigenous language archiving and teaching resource that allows indigenous communities to document their language for future generations.
First Nations University of Canada FNUniv is a unique Canadian institution that specializes in Indigenous knowledge, providing post-secondary education for Indigenous and non-Indigenous students alike.
Enduring Voices Endangered languages awareness and preservation project from National Geographic.
Native Languages of the Americas The website is maintained by a small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages. It is a compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them.
Indigenous Studies Portal University of Saskatchewan