M20 - M39 piano solo
M21 collections - works of two or more composers
M22 collections - works of one composer
M23 sonatas
M24 suites
M26 works for piano one hand
M27 theme and variations
M28 - M32 marches and dances
M198 - M216 Duets (piano only)
M200 - M212 piano, four hands
M213 piano, five, six, eight etc. hands
M217 - M285 duets (piano and another instrument)
M310 - M344 piano and two other instruments
M410 - M449 piano and three other instruments
M510 - M549 piano and four other instruments
(follow the same for five, six, etc. other instruments)
M1010 piano with orchestra (full score)
M1011 piano with orchestra (two-piano version)
M1110 piano with string orchestra
M1111 piano with string orchestra (two-piano version)
ML650 - ML746 Books about the piano
MT220 - MT258 studies and methods / instruction
A seat at the piano (promoting inclusion in piano repertoire)
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by 
The Cambridge Companion to the Piano by
This collection of specially commissioned essays offers an accessible introduction to the history of the piano, performance styles, and its vast repertoire. Part 1 reviews the evolution of the piano, from its earliest forms up to the most recent developments, including the acoustics of the instrument. Part 2 explores the varied repertory in its social and stylistic contexts, including contemporary music, with a final chapter on jazz, blues and ragtime. The Companion also contains a glossary of important terms and will be a valuable source for the piano performer, student and enthusiast.
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire by
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire continues to be the go-to source for piano performers, teachers, and students. Newly updated and expanded with over 250 new composers, this incomparable resource expertly guides readers to solo piano literature. What did a given composer write? What interesting work have I never heard of? How difficult is it? What are its special musical features? How can I reach the publisher? It's all here. Featuring information for more than 2,000 composers, the fourth edition includes enhanced indexes. The new "Hinson" will be an indispensable guide for many years to come.
Music for More Than One Piano by
Now in paperback! Music for More than One Piano An Annotated Guide Maurice Hinson When one piano is simply not enough. "Maurice Hinson's [Music for More than One Piano] ought not only to stand in the bookshelf for reference, but as a true dictionary in the best sense, it should mainly be read for pleasure and enlightenment." --Konrad Wolff In an alphabetic listing by composer, this guide describes works for two or more keyboard instruments composed mainly since 1700. The range of combinations is considerable: works for two, three, four, or more pianos; for two or more pianos with other instruments, voice, or tape; for piano and harpsichord; for two player pianos; and for two pianos tuned a quarter-tone apart. There are compositions to be performed on two pianos by one, two, three, and four players, as well as one work for two players, two left hands. Maurice Hinson's remarks about the style, the performance problems, and the history of specific pieces are, as ever, insightful and delightful. A treasure map for teachers, students, and performers! Maurice Hinson, Senior Professor Emeritus of Piano at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, was founding editor of the Journal of the American Liszt Society and is a contributor to the New Grove Dictionary of American Music. He is known for his many articles, videos, and lecture recitals, especially those on early American piano music. He is author of several books on piano literature, including the indispensable Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, 3rd edition (Indiana University Press). March 2001 (cloth 1983) 256 pages, 6 1/8 x 9 1/4 paper0-253-21457-2$22.95 s / £17.50
Piano Music for One Hand by
"Bravo to Edel on his excellent presentation of the subject! . . . highly recommended . . . " --ARBA 96 ". . . filled with information for pianists with injured hands and for players and teachers seeking unusual repertoire or ways of developing left-hand technique." --Clavier "Thanks to Edel for cataloging this largely unknown area of piano repertoire and to Indiana University Press for publishing this most welcomed book." --American Music Teacher A descriptive catalog of solos, chamber works, and concertos with piano parts written for one hand, including nearly 1,000 solo compositions for the left hand. Publication data, length, level of difficulty, style, and often brief biographical information about the composer are provided for each piece.
Music for Piano and Orchestra, Enlarged Edition by
" . . . an indispensable reference work that can be read with enjoyment for its gold mine of information, much of which will be unfamiliar to even the most jaded keyboard enthusiast." --Clavier " . . . a marvel of comprehensiveness . . . " --Notes " . . . easily surpasses any other work of its nature. It is a work for all admirers of the piano . . . " --Piano Journal With the addition of a Supplement containing over 200 new entries, Maurice Hinson now brings together more than 3,000 works for piano and orchestra from the 1700s to the present.
The Piano in Chamber Ensemble by
The Piano in Chamber Ensembledescribes more than 3,200 compositions, from duos to octets, by more than 1,600 composers. It is divided into sections according to the number of instruments involved, then subdivided according to the actual scoring. Keyboard, string, woodwind, brass, and percussion players and their teachers will find a wealth of chamber works from all periods.
Piano Music in Collections by 
Piano Pedagogy by
Piano Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide provides a detailed outline of resources available for research and/or training in piano pedagogy. Like its companion volumes in the Routledge Music Bibliographies series, it serves beginning and advanced students and scholars as a basic guide to current research in the field. The book will includes bibliographies, research guides, encyclopedias, works from other disciplines that are related to piano pedagogy, current sources spanning all formats, including books, journals, audio and video recordings, and electronic sources.
The Harpsichord and Clavichord by
The Harpsichord and Clavichord, An Encyclopedia includes articles on this family of instruments, including famous players, composers, instruments builders, the construction of the instruments, and related terminology. It is the first complete A-Z reference on this important family of keyboard instruments. The contributors include major scholars of music and musical instrument history from around the world.
Ask us