Skip to Main Content
askus Ask us

Education - Environmental Education

Search Tools

Library Search - Search all UVic resources


Search for Books and eBooks

Google Scholar Search
Google Web Search

BC's new curriculum

BC's new curriculum


Since 2013 British Columbia's curriculum has undergone a considerable redesign. For additional information about BC's new K-12 Curriculum, visit the Ministry of Education website or UVic Libraries' guide on BC's curriculum.

To access information and resources on specific grade and subject curriculum, the Ministry of Education has created a Search Curriculum page. This page allows you to search by type, subject, and grade. For example, you could search for content for grade two science or arts. 

Learn more about BC's new curriculum:


The redesigned curriculum focuses on the following three themes (more info here):

  1. Core competencies
  2. Essential learning
  3. Literacy and numeracy foundation

All new subject curriculum focuses on three aspects:

  • Content (Know):  
    • "The Content learning standards — the “Know” of the Know-Do-Understand model of learning — detail the essential topics and knowledge at each grade level."
  • Curricular Competencies (Do): 
    • "The Curricular Competencies are the skills, strategies, and processes that students develop over time. They reflect the “Do” in the Know-Do-Understand model of learning. While Curricular Competencies are more subject-specific, they are connected to the Core Competencies."
  • Big Ideas (Understand):
    • "The Big Ideas consist of generalizations and principles and the key concepts important in an area of learning.  They reflect the “Understand” component of the Know-Do-Understand model of learning.
      The big ideas represent what students will understand at the completion of the curriculum for their grade. They are intended to endure beyond a single grade and contribute to future understanding."
British Columbia Ministry of Education. 2015. Retrieved May 25, 2016 from

BC's new curriculum elements

The Core Competencies are comprised of the following three themes and sub-themes:


  • Website (includes competency illustrations)
  • PDF (English)
  • PDF (Français)


  • Creative thinking
    • Website (includes competency illustrations)
    • PDF (English)
    • PDF (Français)
  • Critical thinking
    • Website (includes competency illustrations)
    • PDF (English)
    • PDF (Français)


  • Positive Personal and Cultural Identity
    • Website (includes competency illustrations)
    • PDF (English)
    • PDF (Français)
  • Personal Awareness and Responsibility
    • Website (includes competency illustrations)
    • PDF (English)
    • PDF (Français)
  • Social Responsibility
Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.