LibGuides: Continuing Studies: English Language Centre student resources: Sources for Canadian publications

This page contains links to research databases that focus on Canadian topics. Some of the databases listed on this page allow you to change the search interface to the language of your choice (you can see examples of how to do this, below).

Using Academic Databases (video)

Note: Some databases offer translation features

Some of the research databases the library subscribes to will allow you to change the interface language. (The default is English.)

Screenshot of the EBSCOhost database platform:

Screenshot of the ProQuest database platform:

Sources for articles with Canadian content

The Canadian Encyclopedia
ISBN: 0771020996
The Canadian Encyclopedia plays an essential role in providing Canadians and others with accurate, updated information about our people and country. Today, the number of articles in the Encyclopedia – more than 19,500 bilingual – is roughly four times the original total and growing (about 60 articles are revised or created every month). The list of more than 5,000 contributors includes David Suzuki, Margaret Atwood, Piers Handling, Daniel Latouche, the late Pierre Berton and Marc Laurendeau.

Canadian newspapers

Canadian Newsstream 1970s to current. Includes major and medium market Canadian newspapers from across Canada, and regional British Columbia and Yukon titles.

Canadian magazines and journals

Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) Includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.