Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Community Development

Searching for resources

Research topics in community development can be very interdisciplinary in nature and therefore there really isn't one "best database" to search.  Instead, it is recommended you start your research by using a multidisciplinary search tool like the Library's Summon "Search" tool, or Google Scholar (see boxes below).  This will help you get a sense of the literature that exists on your topic, both from within the Library's collection, as well as what's available on the open Internet.

Beyond Summon and Google Scholar, the Library has individual databases that are listed as "best bets" for programs in the School of Public Administration, which you can also explore.

Summon

Summon 2.0 -- UVic Libraries' search engine

 

What is Summon?

Summon is the Library's Google-like search tool.  The difference is that Summon only searches the Library's collection, which includes records for UVic books, ebooks, articles, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, videos, and more. A single search in Summon can return records from all of these sources. 

Some advantages over Google Scholar:

  • Summon provides easy access to a massive amount of print and digital information provided specifically in support of teaching and research at UVic
  • Search results include books and ebooks from the UVic collection, as well as journal articles, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more
  • Search results can be limited to scholarly or peer-reviewed sources with one click
  • Citations in your search results can be viewed in six commonly used citation formats (APA, AMA, MLA, Uniform, Chicago, and Harvard), exported to citation managers, emailed, and printed

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

What is Google Scholar?

You are probably familiar with other specialized Google searches, like Google Images for finding images on the internet, or Google Maps for getting directions to a location, but have you heard of Google Scholar? 

Google describe Google Scholar as "a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."

For more on Google Scholar, see: https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/about.html

 

Useful search terms

The following subject headings can help you find books in our collection on these topics:

Community development, Urban
Urban renewal
Land use
Community organization
Community life
Public spaces
Group decision making
Urban beautification

If you are on campus, you can also browse our print book collection using the call number ranges below:

HT51-65 Human settlements. Communities
HT101-395 Urban groups. The city. Urban sociology
HT161-165 Garden cities. "the city beautiful"
HT165.5-169.9 City planning
HT170-178 Urban renewal. Urban redevelopment
HT201-221 City population, including children in cities, immigration
HT 231 Effect of city life
HT281 Recreation. Amusements
HT321-325 The city as an economic factor. City promotion
HT330-334 Metropolitan areas
HT361-384 Urbanization. City and country
HT388 Regional economics
HT390-395 Regional planning
HT401-485 Rural groups. Rural sociology
HV40-69 Social service. Social work. Charity organization and practice
HV551.2-639 Emergency management
HV553-639 Relief in case of disasters
HV640-645 Refugee problems
HV4023-4470.7 Poor in cities. Slums
HV4480-4630 Mendicancy. Vagabondism. Tramps. Homelessness
HV4701-4890.9 Protection of animals. Animal rights. Animal welfare

More background info on community development

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.